Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 June 2012, 08:45   #51
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Cheers, yes please! I'll PM you my email addy.


Small update-weather and work have stopped me getting much done this week. I spent yesterday at JBT marine and Force 4 in Bursledon so now have the hatches I needed and a set of backrests along with a pile of other small odds'n'sods that were holding me up.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 10:24   #52
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Right, I'm now utterly flummoxed and after suggestions.


The problem is this:-

Once the console and seating are in the boat, there's not a lot of room to access in the top half of the console apart from what's immediately visible through the top hatch.

Sat in front of me is a Blue Sea Systems 12 circuit fuse panel and one of these Blue Sea isolators.:-




I'd like to be able to get to them and keep the wiring neat,but there doesn't seem to be an easy way to do it without mounting them on the shelf in the console.

Any ideas?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 12:33   #53
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
No way to pre-wire the console before fitting?
What about cutting out the console front completely and fitting a panel you can remove with all the electronics in place on it?
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 14:25   #54
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Yes, I'm pre-wiring it. However, if there's ever a problem with it I'd like to be able to fix it without having to remove the seats or the console for access.

I think I've sussed it now, but it means there'll be no storage in the top half of the console. It's probably no bad thing though given how much kit is sticking through into it.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 15:36   #55
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
The problem is this:-

Once the console and seating are in the boat, there's not a lot of room to access in the top half of the console apart from what's immediately visible through the top hatch. Any ideas?
Old Spice had a washing up bowl glassed into the inside of the console, actually I was going to use it as a mold but it was quicker to glass the actually bowl in. Then a hatch was cut to access this space from the outside. The VHF and barometer lived in there, so well protected but easy to access in a hurry.

Pete

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h1...t/IMG_3030.jpg
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 15:50   #56
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,556
one of these if memory serves

Whale Henderson Watertight Inspection Hatch TCL4
__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 15:52   #57
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
That's not a bad idea. I might do something similar, or stick a locker in the side.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 June 2012, 16:27   #58
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Yes, there is an oblong white hatch with a box attached which would it.
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 June 2012, 12:18   #59
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Hatch with box purchased, but.... It'll obstruct the routing for everything going under the deck. It's currently sitting on the workbench with a load of glue setting on it as I've had to modify the box somewhat.
Fun with double jockeys on the way now...

I've found that the yellowing on the double jockeys is far deeper than I thought and isn't even coming off with 80 grit. The gelcoat's getting a bit thin and I'm not through the yellowing yet.

So....

Here's a question. If I flowcoat over the yellowing, will it come through the flowcoat?

Probably worth a separate thread
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 June 2012, 12:32   #60
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2

Here's a question. If I flowcoat over the yellowing, will it come through the flowcoat?
I don't think it will nos.
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.