tsw

Town: Gorran Haven
Boat name: Anchor Management
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60hp EFI mariner
AM I MAD? channel crossing in Avon adventure

I have an Avon Adventure 4.5m paired with a 60 Mariner EFI 4 stroke
the boat is solid and the engine is very reliable I regularly travel reasonable distances in some decent chop around Cornwall.

I am planning to travel directly across the channel from cornwall (Gorran Haven) to some suitable location in France as direct as possible)

almost everyone I have discussed this with has suggested im crazy but the majority have never taken there boat more than a mile off shore

I have plenty of experience on boats and have gotten myself out of a pickle once or twice

is there any reason why if I take all the safety precautions I can and pick a good looking weather window that I shouldn't attempt it.

the route im looking at is essentially 110 miles directly across the channel

thanks
Old 04 July 2023, 19:10   #2

Town: Porchfield
Boat name: Katie
Make: Stingher
Length: 10m +
Engine: Verado 350 x 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsw View Post
I have an Avon Adventure 4.5m paired with a 60 Mariner EFI 4 stroke
the boat is solid and the engine is very reliable I regularly travel reasonable distances in some decent chop around Cornwall.

I am planning to travel directly across the channel from cornwall (Gorran Haven) to some suitable location in France as direct as possible)

almost everyone I have discussed this with has suggested im crazy but the majority have never taken there boat more than a mile off shore

I have plenty of experience on boats and have gotten myself out of a pickle once or twice

is there any reason why if I take all the safety precautions I can and pick a good looking weather window that I shouldn't attempt it.

the route im looking at is essentially 110 miles directly across the channel

thanks