Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 06 July 2013, 23:19   #1

Boat name: WB465
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 2013 ETEC 30
Advice: Small Open RIB for Tiller Handle

Pretty much every RIB I've ever seen has had a console and steering controls.

Say that I wanted a relatively small RIB <5 m and I just wanted it to be open and operated with an outboard with a tiller handle.

What specific make and model would you recommend?

Any pics would be appreciated.
Old 07 July 2013, 03:23   #2

Town: Texas
Make: Bombard
Length: 3m +
Engine: 04 9.8 tohatsu
i have an older 2004 bombard ax500 (3 meter ish total 10'2" loa), it weighs under 100lbs, and i run a 9.8 4 stroke tohatsu. it would probably run a lot better with a 15hp 2 stroke but i bought it used as a package deal. but with weight distributed with just me on board ive gotten it to plane at 4 knots. they are a by product of zodiac and i dont see anywhere if they make anything that is 3 meter or better.

this is when i first got it. ive had all kinds of problems but they are previous owner related
Old 07 July 2013, 05:59   #3

Town: Alton
Boat name: Douggie
Engine: 40 mariner
I use a mariner 40hp 2 stroke on a Mercury Ocean Runner 430 with a tiller. Bough the boat new for a very reasonable price from Bridger marine who were very helpful.
The 40 is quite hard work when flat out with the tiller though.
Old 08 July 2013, 15:11   #4

Length: 5m +
just to test the engine i once dropped a 1980s Mariner 40 on a Zodiac Series 1, that was.... lively

Old 08 July 2013, 18:48   #5

Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider 450 Rib
Engine: Tohatsu 5/18/30 HP
Proyectile,

A <5 Mtr rib is not a small size to handle, for real boating fun will need at least 40 to 50 HP engine. I much preffer 420 to 470 open ribs too, the available deck space is awesome. Check Quicksilver, Mercury, 3D Tender, Highfield brands, just to mention some nice ones if available in Canada.