Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 March 2014, 04:13   #11
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,293
Its probably a wide spread issue, I expect lots of boaters have never heard of a CG66 form. The only time I heard about a CG66 form was on a training course. So considering many people dont take training courses there are probably huge numbers of people without a VHF licence and without a CG66 form with the coastguard.

I do have an Icom VHF set I took off recently and replaced with a newer set, the old set still works and I am going to sell it, however its sat in my garage because I am conscious it still has my MMSI programmed into it which I need to get taken out before I sell it.

I blame the manuafacturers, there should be some mechanism by which a normal person can reset the number rather than haveing to take it to a dealer to be done.

Here's an idea, maybe the manufacturers of the sets should give the necessary resetting equipement to all the local RNLI stations around the country and they could offer a service to reset the number free of charge but with the condition that to do it you must A - show a valid VHF licence and B - Show a valid CG66 form completed or fill one in if you dont have one.

Or perhaps chandlers should do it, I dont know why a charge is made to reset them.
__________________

__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 04:18   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
Boris, we charge to program / reset because not only is it our time, we have to buy the programming kit !! Why would you expect a dealer to do this for free ?

I think you would all be surprised to know how many DSC sets we see that aernt programmed at all (no mmsi = big red button won't work) or aernt connected to a gps.
__________________

__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 04:20   #13
Member
 
Festinghouse's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chorley / Holyhead
Boat name: Northwind Challenger
Make: Tornado
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 115 efi CT
MMSI: 235080598
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,398
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Festinghouse
no doubt some muppett will be along shortly to say thats its good business as it makes it more likely that people will buy a new radio instead of 2nd hand
__________________
"Life may often suck, but the alternative is unacceptable"
MMSI Sticker

Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
Festinghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 04:25   #14
Member
 
Festinghouse's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chorley / Holyhead
Boat name: Northwind Challenger
Make: Tornado
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 115 efi CT
MMSI: 235080598
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,398
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Festinghouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel View Post
Boris, we charge to program / reset because not only is it our time, we have to buy the programming kit !! Why would you expect a dealer to do this for free ?
this is the problem, the manufacturers could so easily make the process so much easier - without the need for any programming etc. if anything were needed though, then as a dealer, manufacturers should throw it in free for the people busy selling their products!
__________________
"Life may often suck, but the alternative is unacceptable"
MMSI Sticker

Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
Festinghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 04:33   #15
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
I could be wrong but not all VHF manufacturers have dealer only reset methods?
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2014, 04:41   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
This is true. Some can be DIY reset, and I do agree this seams more sensible.

Icom it sure all need a visit to a dealer. Std horizon too and the few simrad I have seen. M-tec also but not hugely common so haven't bought the kit.

Cobra don't.

Garmin & Raymarine I'm not sure we don't see many.
__________________

__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.