Old 29 March 2008, 16:53   #1

Boat name: Yam340S
Make: Yamaha (Zodiac)
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 8HP 4stroke
New sib dilemma, expert advise needed

I am new to this great forum, I have spent last few days lurking around and absorbing information from some of the fantastic posts found here.

Basically, I am looking to purchase new (or used excellent) sib and outboard to match it.

However, I was told different opinions by some dealers on two makes I was evaluating
Quicksilver 340 Air Deck / Sport and Yamaha Yam 340S, ie. some of them claim Yams are badly made (cheap version of Zodiac and will not be produced anymore under Yam name).
Others say Quicksilver are very good, however cheaply made, so I am confused a bit and don’t know which one to go for.
Since I am based in London my possibilities to view these sibs live are impossible unless of course you know of a showroom that is near by?
I am planning to transport the sib to the Meds before this summer.
Both models are similarly priced, however I think wooden floor may be more flexible option should I decide to transport it on the plane (two bags with approx 25kg each, engine would be transported separately at later stage most likely via land ) – do you think this is possible?
Engine wise, I was thinking to pair the boat with 8 / 9.9hp 2 stroke Yamaha or 15hp 4 stroke which is heavier, but quieter and better on fuel economy (either of them should suit my requirements for tooling around with up to 4-5 persons which include 2-3 kids).
I would really appreciate opinion and advise of people here who have used these sibs and which they would prefer and why.

Thanks and regards
Dan
Old 29 March 2008, 17:42   #2

Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider 450 Rib
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 5/18/30 HP
Quote:
Originally Posted by danilo View Post
I am new to this great forum, I have spent last few days lurking around and absorbing information from some of the fantastic posts found here.