Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 August 2008, 10:08   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: gravesend
Boat name: curach/Earl
Make: seago/Lifeguard 4M
Length: under 3m
Engine: 3.3 marinar/10 hp
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
Get a small bruce anchor. The Delta is better but the smallest is overkill for a SIB.

It is usually a case of the more chain and rope the better but if it's just for a spot of fishing just use all rope. The bigger the diameter the easier it is to handle.

Attach a short painter to the bow eye and then attach the ancor rope to that but leave some in the boat so you can pull it back in easily.

The folding grapnel is next to useless unless you use it in rocky ground.
WOULD IT NOT BE BETTER TO HAVE SOME WARP CHAIN,,,,,,,,,,RATHER THEN JUST USE ROPE,,,,,,,,,WHEN FISHING ON MINE I USE 2 METRES OF CHAIN ON ME GRAPNEL ,HOLDS FINE ON SANDY BOTTOMS,,,,,,,,,,,,,,CHAIN LAYS THE ANCHOR DOWN JUST RIGHT
__________________

__________________
thornbackflound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2008, 17:47   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
When I tested my 7.5kg grapnel it was with about 200' of rope on a flat beach so the pull was very nearly horizontal. I pulled the anchor out with one hand no matter how well set it was.

Yes chain is much better but the grapnel is so bad that a Bruce etc without chain is better than a grapnel with it.

A 5kg Bruce will hold my 9m RIB in a tide no problem without chain - the 7.5 kg Grapnel with chain dragged like hell.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2008, 19:57   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by codprawn View Post
A 5kg Bruce will hold my 9m RIB in a tide no problem without chain - the 7.5 kg Grapnel with chain dragged like hell.
Strangely, I found the opposite to be the case. It surprises me that my 5kg Bruce anchor with 7m of 7mm chain will drag on occasion with a 5.8m RIB. My old 5kg grapnel has always held really well in the same sandy bottom estuary as CP mentions.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2008, 06:28   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambridge
Boat name: Marlin
Make: Strikeliner
Length: 5m +
Engine: 30 HP Mercury
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks for all the personal experiences fella's.
This starting boating lark is starting to cost a few quid!!
I'll give my (free) grapnel a go with the chain & rope & see how it works.
I can always buy a Bruce later.
Cheers
Dave
__________________
paramaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2008, 06:46   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: gravesend
Boat name: curach/Earl
Make: seago/Lifeguard 4M
Length: under 3m
Engine: 3.3 marinar/10 hp
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by paramaniac View Post
Thanks for all the personal experiences fella's.
This starting boating lark is starting to cost a few quid!!
I'll give my (free) grapnel a go with the chain & rope & see how it works.
I can always buy a Bruce later.
Cheers
Dave
Dave you be right there,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,ONCE I BROUGHT THE FISH FINDER ,VHF RADIO, FLARES, FLARES ALONE WERE 52 QUID,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,AND LOADS OF OTHER BITS ANTI SLIP MATTING 17 QUID A METRE ,SO THAT 3 METRES,,,,,,,,,,,,,,AS HARRY ENFIELD SAID,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,LOADS OF MONEY
__________________
thornbackflound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2008, 13:26   #16
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by thornbackflound View Post
ONCE I BROUGHT THE FISH FINDER ,VHF RADIO, FLARES, FLARES ALONE WERE 52 QUID,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,AND LOADS OF OTHER BITS ANTI SLIP MATTING 17 QUID A METRE ,SO THAT 3 METRES,,,,,,,,,,,,,,AS HARRY ENFIELD SAID,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,LOADS OF MONEY
OK ,,, YOU CAN STOP SHOUTING NOW thats better
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2008, 15:39   #17
Member
 
m chappelow's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
another reason why chain is used is that if anchored up for along time ,is to stop the rope chaffing through if anchored near abrasive rocks or and old ship wreck .
__________________
m chappelow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2008, 08:48   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: gravesend
Boat name: curach/Earl
Make: seago/Lifeguard 4M
Length: under 3m
Engine: 3.3 marinar/10 hp
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmuz7 View Post
OK ,,, YOU CAN STOP SHOUTING NOW thats better
im not ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,SHOUTING ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,JUST EASIER FOR ME SOMETIMES TO TYPE IN CAPITALS WHEN MY ,EYES ARE BAD
__________________
thornbackflound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2008, 17:30   #19
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by thornbackflound View Post
im not ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,SHOUTING ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,JUST EASIER FOR ME SOMETIMES TO TYPE IN CAPITALS WHEN MY ,EYES ARE BAD
Reduce the resolution of your monitor then in 'windows' if thats what you use, that should help you to see text better, as it blows the picture up more ,.. or,. get a bigger monitor/screen,... Ive noticed that I've had to do this over the years but it does make it easier on the eyes
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2008, 19:03   #20
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by thornbackflound View Post
I USE 2 METRES OF CHAIN ON ME GRAPNEL ,HOLDS FINE ON SANDY BOTTOMS,,,,,,,,,,,,,,CHAIN LAYS THE ANCHOR DOWN JUST RIGHT
I used to have a grapnel on my Achilles 14'. 8 lb anchor and oh, 10' or so of 3/8" chain.

Went halibut hunting (over sand), dropped straight down from the boat to the bottom, and watched as the anchor sailed past leaving 2 nice little furrows in the sand.

No grapnels for me.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.