Click Here to Login

Old 23 April 2005, 22:22   #1
Administrator

Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Cruising to the Isle of Man from the Fleet Estuary, Scotland - Martin Bywater

Cruising to the Isle of Man from the Fleet Estuary, Scotland
by Martin Bywater

I'm fairly new to RIBs but have taken to it with an addiction. My boat is a Valiant 4.5 metre Vanguard with a 50hp Mercury 50hp outboard which was purchased from Ron Hale Marine as a ready to use package.

<!-- photo -->

An early morning start with the sun rising behind us

I bought the RIB in mid July and had clocked up around 20 hours without any other mishap other than a loose earth cable on the engine which was easily remedied. Wanting to venture a bit further I planned a trip to the Isle of Man from Gatehouse of Fleet on the Solway coast in Scotland, with my friend Tony West as crew.

We picked the 27th of August for our voyage as the tides were ideal, with high tide in the morning at 09.00 and the tide for the return journey at 20.30. On the day the weather forecast was for smooth or slight seas, light winds, good visibility for around 36 hours with the pressure increasing. Perfect!

With this forecast we felt fairly confident about a 37 mile crossing to Ramsey. The RIB was well prepared, with a Garmin hand held GPS, depth finder/fish finder, Richie Compass, Marine VHF radio, coastal flares, mobile phones, charts and a Johnson 3hp outboard as backup. We had spoken to Gary Mc Alister, a local coast guard officer who we had met on a previous trip, and he considered that it would be quite feasible in such a small boat subject to a good weather window.

As we set of at 07.15 the sun was trying to break through a slight mist, but the mountains on the Isle of Man were quite visible. Pretty good when you consider that according to the locals, the island is only visible around 60 days a year!

<!-- photo -->

The Isle of Man on the horizon