Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 March 2014, 17:27   #21
Member
 
Gramas's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Northern Storm
Make: North Diver?
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 Autolube
MMSI: 235096344
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
Looks like you would take: Radio Blue (+) Input to GPS Blue (Output) Radio Green (-) Input/Output to GPS Black (or both via the ground/-ve terminal of the battery Radio Purple (+) Output to GPS Brown (Input) (GPS wires on the power connection rather than the NMEA 2000 port) On GPS -- Home Screen / Configure / Communications Serial Port - NMEA Standard (COM 1) NMEA 0183 Sentence - ??Route??
That's what I've done yeah , what's sentence and route?
__________________

__________________
Gramas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2014, 17:29   #22
Member
 
Gramas's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Northern Storm
Make: North Diver?
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 Autolube
MMSI: 235096344
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Have position on gps although I'm 3 mile from coast but can run it to my rnli station to check again (signal) just not getting why like standard horizon vhf manual says should have satelite icon on VHF once connected
__________________

__________________
Gramas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2014, 17:35   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
It makes no difference if you are at the coast. You could be at the top of everest - if its got a pos on screen it should be able to send it to the SH.

On the NMEA config ( http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/GP...6_OM_WW_EN.pdf - page 52 ) it looks like you can set the NMEA output to a variety of things. I'm guessing you want the Route option.
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2014, 17:40   #24
Member
 
Gramas's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Northern Storm
Make: North Diver?
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 Autolube
MMSI: 235096344
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Cheers will check over it all tomorrow and let you know how I get on
__________________
Gramas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2014, 17:56   #25
Member
 
Gramas's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Northern Storm
Make: North Diver?
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 Autolube
MMSI: 235096344
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
On page 58 of link do I need to set pos precision? If so to what ?
__________________
Gramas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 March 2014, 18:51   #26
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
I've never heard of setting a precision on NMEA till I read that. As I understand it the system will output something line 5501.0123, to mean 55degrees 01min decimal 0123 If the SH can only handle 55' 01.01 I'd expect it to drop that not the sender... (I think it should handle it anyway!)
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2014, 18:56   #27
Member
 
Gramas's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Northern Storm
Make: North Diver?
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 Autolube
MMSI: 235096344
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
All sorted now cheers lads
__________________
Gramas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2014, 19:16   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
What was wrong?
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2014, 20:35   #29
Member
 
Gramas's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Northern Storm
Make: North Diver?
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 90 Autolube
MMSI: 235096344
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 546
Being honest I think the mmsi number needed entering! although manual for vhf stated once gps and VHF wired up together a satelite signal should appear it never did till I punched mmsi code in. In manual entering it comes 2pages after connection but it's sorted so no sweating now
__________________
Gramas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 April 2014, 21:07   #30
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley,Falkland Islands.
Boat name: Pacific Pintail
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 125 Opti
MMSI: 740389000
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Good to see you got your GPS and VHF hooked up Gramas. Would any of you guys have an idea about hooking up a Garmin 557xs to an Icom M423. I have got these units to fit, but have no idea about how to tie them together. Any info would be most welcome. cheers.
__________________

__________________
Southern Sealion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.