Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 August 2014, 07:54   #1
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Wiring question!

I've just got my Lowrance Link 8 radio and intend fitting it this week, but I have a question.

The radio has an inline 7A fuse in the live (+ve) line but the installation guidance says the radio must be fitted to a 10A 13V circuit. I intend to install it onto my bus-bar (ie no switch/circuit breaker so it's live when the battery switch is made).

Does the guidance mean I have to fit a further 10A fuse in series to the 7A fuse, or does it just mean the system must be capable of handling 10A and the 7A fuse is sufficient? Sorry for the daft question but I've had a brain-fart and completely confused myself!

Cheers!


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2014, 08:59   #2
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
It means the circuit you're connecting to needs to be able to handle 10 amp or more, leave the 7 amp one in its holder
__________________

__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2014, 11:46   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Was the 7A fuse pre-installed on the radio power lead? If so, what they're saying is that you should leave the 7A fuse in there, and the power supply must be able to source 10A (or more.) You'd be fine wiring it the way you wanted to without any additional fuse or breaker.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2014, 12:05   #4
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Wiring question!

Ah, that explains it. That's what I thought it meant but I thought I'd ask!

Yes, the fuse is pre-installed.

Thanks for the replies!


Sent from my iPhone using RIB Net
__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.