Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 23 February 2019, 18:05   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 537
Which power cable?

Hi all,

I need long power cables (+ & -) to run from battery in bench seat to rear to the rear of the electronics in the front console -

Is the below the sort of thing I need? 250A is also available but thought 170A would be enough?

Thanks!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3654.JPG
Views:	94
Size:	132.7 KB
ID:	128556
__________________

__________________
xpertski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2019, 00:26   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 140HP
MMSI: 235115642
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 513
RIBase
Yes it would be fine.

It might be overkill though.

If it is just electronics, they don't draw that much power and you could probably get away with smaller (lighter and cheaper) cable.

If the cable length is 10m, you could use 10mm cable and have enough capacity for nearly 20 Amps of power draw before the voltage drop becomes an issue.

I don't have shares in them but 12V planet has the same cable for $6.23per metre. That is pounds and not dollars - my keyboard isn't recognising the pound sign this morning.

Having said the above - if you have the space, weight and budget - bigger is best.
__________________

__________________
GuyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2019, 00:59   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 537
Thanks Guy!

Just looked on that website, and given you think 170A might be overkill, would 110A be more appropriate and still leave allot of headroom?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3655.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	128558
__________________
xpertski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2019, 09:37   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 140HP
MMSI: 235115642
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 513
RIBase
110A or 16mm2 cable would be fine. I don't know how long the cable is between the battery and the console but assuming 10m you'd be able to draw just shy of 30A before the voltage drop started to exceed the recommended amounts. I'd be very surprised if you've got electronics that exceed this.

A fixed VHF draws around 6A on transmit, a chartplotter around 1A so I don't think you'll have a problem with 16mm2 cable.
__________________
GuyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 February 2019, 14:54   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: Jazcabelle
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Petrol 150
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 245
I used 50mm from my batteries to the isolator and then 35mm from the isolator to the console fuse box. I think that was slightly overkill, but doable
__________________
Chanchan168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 February 2019, 09:40   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 537
I actually have some Ripcaflex 25mm2 cables which are about 10 years old I assume, I canít find any info online but presume itís quite a high capacity cable, any issues with just reusing that, is age much of a factor?
__________________
xpertski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 March 2019, 09:44   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 537
Also, i guess if I put a fuse close to the battery on the positive, the size of the fuse would be a limiting factor to the cable anyway? Ie a 30A fuse would mean even if the power cable has a capacity of over 30A, ie 110 A (16mm cable) or 170A (25mm cable) that the current limit of that cable would be 30A, otherwise the fuse blows?

Also I canít find in line fuses above the size and capacity of the photo below, it is 16mm and rated up to 100Amp (but fuse would be maybe 30amp; should a larger fuse be used?), if I reuse my 25mm Ripcaflex cable, how to connect in the fuse, could the other photo, connector for up to 25mm cable be used to crimp together 16mm one end from the fuse line and 25mm the other from my existing power cable?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3803.JPG
Views:	54
Size:	94.1 KB
ID:	128637
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3804.JPG
Views:	53
Size:	104.2 KB
ID:	128638
__________________
xpertski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 March 2019, 10:19   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 537
Sorry folks another question ... if the butt splice connector wasnít the way to go to connect either side of the fuse, should I instead use something like the below? So cut some 25mm cable, run it from battery to one of these, connect the fuse to it then run the other side of the fuse cable to a second junction, the other side of which the 25mm cable continues to a junction inside the console?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3805.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	128642
__________________
xpertski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 March 2019, 14:36   #9
Member
 
Last Tango's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Denny
Boat name: Hebridean Storm
Make: Coastline
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner F150
MMSI: 235107505
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,362
What on earth do you have in the console that's going to draw 100A + ?
__________________
Last Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 March 2019, 15:29   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: ocean pro 6.3
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140hp suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Last Tango View Post
What on earth do you have in the console that's going to draw 100A + ?


Hi - you can probably guess electrics isnít my strong point but learning ... the engine I bought recently had a 25mm set of power cables (which Iím assuming at about 170 amp capacity), everything came off it - for me it will be the usuals: 12 inch finder/plotter, compass, vhf, stereo, nav lights, bilge pump. Guess none of that adds up to much.

So the cables I have are probably well over and above normal capacity needs so perhaps an opportunity to look at some lower capacity thinner cables. If that would be more appropriate then the 16mm (110 amp - yes I know still probably well above needs) would be more than sufficient and I donít use the old 25mm cable I have. Thoughts on whether thatís a better way to go?
__________________

__________________
xpertski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.