Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 July 2007, 05:38   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Yarmouth, IoW
Boat name: 7up
Make: Ribeye Sport
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc 150 Opti
MMSI: 235057812
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 133
Navman 6600

Navman do some nice 7" displays that are a good 1/2 way to the Raymarine C/E80. I had the later on the rag and stick machine (yacht) and it was beautiful (if you have the space). With a more limited console, rather than nav station, the combined Navman 6600 is a good compromise (800x480pixels) with excellent resolution.
__________________

__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."
- Mario Andretti
genoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 July 2007, 17:19   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Has anyone seen the new Garmin 4008? I had a quick look at my mates at the weekend, it has to be one of the best looking units around. Their charts have moved on aswell, spangly features like putting your depth in and changing the colours of the water in 3D mood to show you if you are heading somewhere you shouldn't.

I want one!
__________________

__________________
cuzza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2007, 10:40   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oldmeldrum
Boat name: S-Cape
Make: Sovereign 650
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner Opti 115 S/C
MMSI: 235051596
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
I have the Navman 6600 with UK Megawide CMax chart - can't see past it for charts and added info plus Smartcraft interface is brilliant. Haven't had any of the problems posted elsewhere
__________________
Bhives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2007, 09:50   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Yarmouth, IoW
Boat name: 7up
Make: Ribeye Sport
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc 150 Opti
MMSI: 235057812
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhives View Post
plus Smartcraft interface is brilliant.
No problems, but I am interested in the Smartcraft interface. I have a Merc Opti 150 with 2 multifunction dials on the console. Have thought about interface to the Navman. what do I need (vs what will they try and sell me) to do the job? Is it an easy wiring job? Do you have the Navman wired for ignition on only?
__________________
"If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough."
- Mario Andretti
genoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 August 2007, 09:10   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oldmeldrum
Boat name: S-Cape
Make: Sovereign 650
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner Opti 115 S/C
MMSI: 235051596
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
Wiring is easy, purchase the Smartcraft interface kit (Plastimo catalogue) with a 4 way Navbus connector. If you PM your details I'll send a drawing which shows my setup with Smartcraft gauges and additional fuel tank sender hookup. You need to make sure your throttle has a smartcraft connector. I also changed the analogue trim sender to a digital one (80) to allow the trim popup screen on the 6600 to work without installing another gauge. Did not wire for power up with engine as engine hours are only logged when engine on and I do not go anywhere without it on.
__________________

__________________
Bhives is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.