Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 September 2011, 16:06   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembroke
Boat name: Rapscallion
Make: Humber Destroyer 6.0
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 150 HPDI
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
I had a Silva mounted vertically on my old boat. I did worry it might be a problem but it never was. Boat was covered when stored but it obviously got a good soaking when afloat (esp in Pembrokeshire "summers")
__________________

__________________
Jon Tallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 September 2011, 16:15   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
My icom is mounted vertically. No issues at all! Don't have any pics to hand at the moment but will dig some out.
__________________

__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2011, 15:16   #13
Member
 
Sea Witch's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Town: clifden
Make: Fletcher Bravo Arrow
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 175
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 43
Sea witch here

I have mine mounted vertically , but also have a plastic cover for it wen not used out on mooring , no problems at all but did with a navman 7200 wen the cable from mic to radio started splitting and leak water into the VHF unit itself .
__________________
Sea Witch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2011, 16:30   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Thanks for all the advice here, I fitted it at the weekend and it all went ok. I did find that once you cut the hole you can still tilt it forward quite a bit so you can have it tilting if you want to pad it out along the back edge
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CIMG1423.JPG
Views:	81
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	63075  
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2011, 16:45   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: England
Boat name: n/a
Make: n/a
Length: no boat
Engine: n/a
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 362
Looks like a very neat job. Do you have an a-frame? If not where is your antenna?

Thanks.
__________________
rigi36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 October 2011, 16:54   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Hi, Yes I have a removable ali a-frame, but the cable will be a continuous length so once the a-frame is removed it just lays in the rib so it can fit in the garage.
__________________

__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.