Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 August 2003, 11:03   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Transducer Mounting

I've just purchased a Garmin 100 Fishfinder which, will be used for depth readings only. My Medline has a strange transom / hull shape as it extends with what are termed as "planing trim flaps".

I could mount the transducer on these but experience shows that;

1. It looks crap as you have to make/buy a bracket for it to fit on.
2. Causes a fishtail.
3. Said fishtail also soaks the benchseat and occupants.
4. You buy a new transducer once a year as you inevitably catch it on the trailer / beach.

Therefore, I'm mounting it internally against the rear bulkhead.

My questions are;

1. Will this work?
2. Does the transducer need to face the same way as it does in the water because mounting it on the internal wall places it facing the wrong way ?
3. Does it need to be touching the base of the hull?
4. Does it need to be in water?

Tips and advice would be much appreciated, thanks.
__________________

__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2003, 11:52   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Yes
Make: Assorted
Length: <
Engine: 8m
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 110
Got my transducer in the bailing well of a Zodiac cherokee. Screwed the bracket to the forward wall of the well - so it's pointing the right way. Tighten it down roughly parallel to the waterline and leave an inch of water in the well (there always is anyway). Works fine up to 30 knots and 80 plus metres, have to slow to 20/22 for deeper. Occasional blip when its rough and the water sloshes, but not enough to warrent the glass a tube in and fill it with castor oil route.
__________________

__________________
Phill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2003, 12:13   #3
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Did a temporary job on the club rib 5 years ago by glueing the transducer into the splash well with bathroom sealant. Still works today and it means ppl don't knock the transducer off when launching or beaching. Reception aokay up to 20 knots.

Also bonded a lowrance transducer into the hull of my Pacifc so it fire through the hull, loose a little performance but it works. Might do the same with the Garmin on this winter rather than have it mounted on the stern.

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2003, 12:50   #4
Trade member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Yeovil, Somerset
Boat name: Ribcraft1
Make: Ribcraft
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 75
Send a message via Skype™ to jace
Have a look at

http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?...ansducer+epoxy

J
jace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2003, 13:16   #5
tue
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Paignton, Devon
Make: Chinook and Viking
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150 Etec + 125 Merc
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 526
When we fit transducers in the new Bayliner boats we use resin to bond them into the hull.

By making a mould using plastacine then filling with well mixed resin (so all air bubbles are expelled), we then place the transducer in the resin pointing the same way as if screwed to transom, and leave to set.

We have had no problems with this system, and its how mine are fitted, and it can be placed anywhere in the bilge/hull.
__________________
**Paul**
Brixham BSAC
tue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2003, 18:21   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Yeh, I agree with tue. My Garmin never lost the bottom at any speed when set like this. To prevent bubbles, run the resin down a stick to form a base. It may crack due to the heat. When this has set, run some more resin down the stick to slowly fill any cracks and make it about 3mm deep. Set the transducer into this. If you wax polish or apply release agent to the transducer, you can crack it loose at a later date if necessary. As security, I set a couple of bolts, facing up, into the resin also so that a clamp plate can be put across the top of the transducer to prevent it inadvertently being displaced.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2003, 03:41   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Thanks

God I love this Forum. Thanks everyone, some really good tips.
__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2003, 17:08   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Isle of Skye
Boat name: Seafari - VHF CH 71
Make: Humbers+Catamaran
Length: 6m +
Engine: Volvo/Iveco/Suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 196
Easy Way

I did it all as the instructions said -- epoxy it to the inside-- did that then it broke off, ( did not want it on the transom as it was a pain)

So,, i siliconed it to the inside, and it reads thro the hull - works fine, and no probs - one even reads thro black sikaflex..

Pete F
__________________
seafariskye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2003, 17:27   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
yep - use the silicone in the drain well so youre sounding thru 1 layer. Follow Jaces link to the previous thread on this topic and youll see thats what we do-totally against the instruction book but it works just fine and you can get it out again if you sell the boat.
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2003, 17:58   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Great Harwood, Lancs
Boat name: Tigger II
Make: Bombardier Aerodeck
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 25HP
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 626
Hi folks

I used silicone to mount my transducer in the engine bay, almost expecting to have to take it out ans use epoxy.

However it now done many miles and at any speed still gives good strong clear echos on my Lawrance X51.

Like Dave says it does work even if the books say not

Regards Gary
__________________

__________________
Garygee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.