Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 February 2012, 02:29   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Any chance of getting a bit more info. What devices/displays do you have on the network? Are they blue connectors or red? What software version is the interface running? ( you can get this by entering the device via the device list)

Unlike the other NMEA2K devices the interface receives it's power via the engine not the backbone...
__________________

__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 03:45   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
I would swap out some cables first the NMEA2000 plugs are quite small and not that strong and the contacts would corrode very quickly if they did get any saltwater exposure.

I am guessing you have a layout like this...

Long NMEA cable runnig to the back and into a "T" off this "T" you have a cable running to the engine and on the other side of the "T" you have a terminator.

at the front you then have a few Ts joined together with guages, GPS etc?

Or do you have a second T at the back with the GPS?
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 07:57   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northampton
Make: RibTec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outbaord mariner 75
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 506
looks like nema 2000 is like the old ethernet cabeling.
so things to check

terminators are corrrect and on the BUS side of the T connectors and not device side.
terminator are correct at 120Ohms and there are one at each end of the bus.
all connectors a re solid and clean.

There is only 1 power supply to the Bus.
There are no breaks in the bus.
The resistance across the bus is 60 Ohms with the terminators in place if its off then it could be the cable or water ingress into connectors

good little link
http://www.lowrance.com/upload/Lowra...173_112006.pdf
__________________
jezza2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 12:01   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
If you could let me have more info as per my earlier post I might be able to help. The problem may be in the NMEA2K network but I wouldn't start there yet. Let me know what devices and displays you have and describe the network architecture.

I also could do with knowing the engine year and model and how the interface is connected. I am guessing you are using analogue gauges not SMIS?

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 14:33   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
My network is three LMF 400's, one LMF 200, one HDS 7, one LCX-27, Sonic hub, side Imaging sonar, one LGC 4000 and the engine interface, no analogue gauges all SMIS.
It runs down the whole boat with T's all along the way (some twin t's) until it gets to the rear where there is a twin T with engine interface and Gps aerial attached.
Its all red network.
The engine is 2006 or 07 (I would need to go look)
I'll go and check and look at the software version later.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 16:03   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Ok please bear with me on this. Can you confirm how the network is powered. During the LCX generation Lowrance networks were powered via the display power connector using the 3rd cable marked NMEA2K (or similar) When HDS was introduced the rules changed to prohibit any device powering networks and required a seperate single power supply. If you are using the LCX power cable as the network power then there should not be a second feed from either a network power node (as found in the starter kit) or from Suzuki's own SMIS loom. In fact I would probably remove the LCX network supply and use the second or third option. So please confirm the how this is configured.

Secondly please confirm the engine connection. Your engine pre-dates the K8 change so will have a large round SDS connector. What version of the interface cable do you have, round or square connector and are you using an adaptor?

And lastly do you have the GPS source set to the LGC4000 or could the system be sharing GPS data from the HDS-7?

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 18:02   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
My network is three LMF 400's, one LMF 200, one HDS 7, one LCX-27, Sonic hub, side Imaging sonar, one LGC 4000 and the engine interface, no analogue gauges all SMIS.
It runs down the whole boat with T's all along the way (some twin t's) until it gets to the rear where there is a twin T with engine interface and Gps aerial attached.
Its all red network.
The engine is 2006 or 07 (I would need to go look)
I'll go and check and look at the software version later.
BLIMEY, thats a lot of gizmos, I struggled to keep an eye on 2 x LMF400s and a plotter.

I would try disconnecting everything but one LMF400 and the engine and starting from scratch. These networks can do some weird stuff and a T piece further up the network can cause problems with devices on completely different areas of the network. You could update the software on one item and it could interfere with another.

I am assuming you have the double T at the back of the boat terminated?

Also on the power side Texel Tom is spot on, only one power source can be used. They do make a special power node that can allow you to feed multiple power feeds into a single T however I think this might be an Evinrude item for multi engine installations.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 18:39   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texel Tom View Post
Ok please bear with me on this. Can you confirm how the network is powered. During the LCX generation Lowrance networks were powered via the display power connector using the 3rd cable marked NMEA2K (or similar) When HDS was introduced the rules changed to prohibit any device powering networks and required a seperate single power supply. If you are using the LCX power cable as the network power then there should not be a second feed from either a network power node (as found in the starter kit) or from Suzuki's own SMIS loom. In fact I would probably remove the LCX network supply and use the second or third option. So please confirm the how this is configured.

Secondly please confirm the engine connection. Your engine pre-dates the K8 change so will have a large round SDS connector. What version of the interface cable do you have, round or square connector and are you using an adaptor?

And lastly do you have the GPS source set to the LGC4000 or could the system be sharing GPS data from the HDS-7?

TT
I am using a end connector with built in terminator rather than the LCX feed, both plotters are set to use the LGC4000 as the primary aerial as the HDS 7 doesn't output info onto the network, only internally within the plotter. The engine interface is round with no adaptors.
The nmea info on the interface says software version 2.2.0 FL800D model 3.0.0 and serial number 1163306.

As it is connected it worked perfectly for two years then started playing up pointing to a connection issue, which I can fid despite swapping and checking all the connections.
I did have a similiar issue with the aerial once but this was simply a loose plug..

The attached diagram shows the basic network, some of the T's are double T's and I may have the odd item in the wrong order as its a few years since I did it but basically this is how it is laid out. Can't remember if the interface is the last in line or the GPS but think from memory its the GPS. This last connection for these items is a double T with terminator fitted.

I do like my toys...........
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	network.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	65454  
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 18:39   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Good advice from Chris and I think isolating the network down to the engine and one LMF and then one by one reintroducing each additional device is certainly a plan. I am still suspicious of the power issue but also the engine connection. As I said power to the interface comes from the engine side not from the NMEA network.

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 18:52   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
The problem is doing this on the water, most connections aren't accessible without opening up the whole console. The fault cannot be duplicated sitting in the drive, even with the engine running, hence the reason I haven't been able to trace it.!
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.