Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 July 2010, 15:13   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: margate
Make: SELVA
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 72
setting up a transducer

Does anyone have any tips on setting up a Humminbird transducer?
I can't get it to work at speeds more than 15mph, it either tells me the waters hundreds of feet deep or nothing at all......
__________________

__________________
brinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2010, 15:21   #2
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
I guess it's in aerieated (sp) water or being on the surface when planning
needs to be in clear non turbulant water
__________________

__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2010, 15:36   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
I think it's a fairly common problem with transom mounted transducers. Mine used to do the same, would suddenly jump to read 230ft or something - more or less as you went on the plane though oddly sometimes it would read up to about 25kt other times it was gone at not much over 10kt. It was also very easy to prang it on kelp etc and I had to fix the bracket a couple of times. The transducer on Seawolf is going to be mounted in the hull because of this, I was tired of it never working properly at speed.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 July 2010, 06:59   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
the Humminbirds we have had were all c**p and suffered from this problem.
However if you have a drain well at the stern where you can get to the hull, as opposed to the deck, the transducer will shoot thru that ok and will be less trouble than mounted outside. Put some water in the well first and put the transducer in there and find a good position where it will give you the best reading. Then dry it out and fix it with a thin layer of silicone and it will be fine providing you squeeze any air bubbles out of it. The books will tell you not to use silicone cos it degrades the signal etc etc and to use two pot epoxy. Tis bollox - will work fine with silicone with the advantage that you can get it out again if need be. When you have done all that buy a cheap Eagle Cuda sounder instead - which will work at 40 odd knots siliconed in, good waterproof head unit and so, so reliable!
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 July 2010, 12:51   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavelength View Post
...buy a cheap Eagle Cuda sounder instead - which will work at 40 odd knots siliconed in, good waterproof head unit and so, so reliable!
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.