Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 January 2011, 08:34   #1
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
question about wiring a switch

Short paragraph taken from the installation manual for the Garmin 600ais (transponder):

Wiring the AIS600 to a physical switch to enter Silent Mode (optional)

When in silent mode, you will only recieve ais signals; your position will not be transmitted.
Use the bare wires from the included SRM cable to install a silent mode switch. Connect the yellow wire from the SRM cable to one terminal of a single-pole, single-throw switch (not included) and connect the green wire from the SRM cable to the other terminal. After the switch is installed, when you close the switch, the AIS600 enters silent mode.


I want to install this switch on the panel with the rest of my switches on the switch panel. All my switches are the Carling toggle kind, each with an led wired in series to provide on/off indication.
I don't know for sure but I'm guessing these "SRM cable" wires aren't a straightforward 12v +/- which would allow me to put an led in series as above, most likely they are some sort of low voltage signal.

So would a single throw/double pole switch be my answer? Wire the SRM cable through one pole and the led through the other?
I've just been looking at my usual switch supplier, they don't list a DP/ST in straightforward on/off configuration but do for every other type. Not sure if they make them or not for some reason?

Thank you!
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 08:53   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post

So would a single throw/double pole switch be my answer? Wire the SRM cable through one pole and the led through the other?
I've just been looking at my usual switch supplier, they don't list a DP/ST in straightforward on/off configuration but do for every other type. Not sure if they make them or not for some reason?

Thank you!
Yes that configuration should work and I'm surprised they don't list a DP/ST, have you checked the manufacturer's website, may be a typo or the supplier simply forgot to list it??
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 10:21   #3
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jizm View Post
Yes that configuration should work and I'm surprised they don't list a DP/ST, have you checked the manufacturer's website, may be a typo or the supplier simply forgot to list it??
Thanks for that, I went on the Carling site and once I figured out which of the huge number of switch series's were my type (G-series), I found they are available. Got a couple on the way from Maplins now
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 10:39   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
You should have waited before ordering from Maplin with their hefty carriage charge. I'm sure I've got some spare from my set-up.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 11:18   #5
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
You should have waited before ordering from Maplin with their hefty carriage charge. I'm sure I've got some spare from my set-up.
Never mind! I bought spares and a few 3.5mm plugs and sockets as well, postage 2.49
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 11:22   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
I want to install this switch on the panel with the rest of my switches on the switch panel. All my switches are the Carling toggle kind, each with an led wired in series to provide on/off indication.
I don't know for sure but I'm guessing these "SRM cable" wires aren't a straightforward 12v +/- which would allow me to put an led in series as above, most likely they are some sort of low voltage signal.
The LED function should be a separate circuit from the signal being switched (i.e. the switch body actually contains 2 switches: one for the signal, and one to control the LED.)

If you can get the existing switch to function as a SPST (or on/off, if you prefer) with the desired orientation, it should work fine.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 11:30   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
I love the ability to go into 'stealth' mode........

Now why would you want to ???
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 11:35   #8
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
The LED function should be a separate circuit from the signal being switched (i.e. the switch body actually contains 2 switches: one for the signal, and one to control the LED.)

If you can get the existing switch to function as a SPST (or on/off, if you prefer) with the desired orientation, it should work fine.

jky
Thanks jky, I figured it would be a bad idea to try involving led's and 12v supplies etc on the same circuit, I just needed to confirm my interpretation of how double pole switches work. I've since found a little diagram that explains the different types so I'm all good
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 12:08   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
postage 2.49
That's not bad. A little while ago it was a flat rate of 7 regardless of order size to the CI's. They've obviously bucked their ideas up a little. Unless you are using a 12v LED, don't forget you'll need a resistor in series to step it down to the usual 2.1v of an LED.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 January 2011, 13:17   #10
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
12v led - check
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.