Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 December 2014, 04:09   #1
dnv
Member
 
Country: Germany
Town: Hamburg
Boat name: Der Delphin
Make: Parker
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 120HP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 168
Northstar Explorer 650 not getting fix

Good morning

I have since 2010 a Northstar explorer 650 installed. Since last year it happens in one out of some five occasions that the box finds some ten satellites but does not get a fix.
Anybody has a clue what the reason is, and if / how this may solved?

Jan
__________________

__________________
dnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 December 2014, 08:53   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Arlington
Boat name: Clear Cut
Make: Polaris
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, petrol,150
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 82
I don't have any experience with a Northstar, but look at the antenna and the cable connections. If you have a signal strength screen, take a look at that and see the strength and number of satellites you are getting while you are checking the connections. If only a few are showing and you have a good view of the sky then something is not right in your antenna/cable setup.

By Googling your make and model I noticed that firmware downloads are available. Make sure you have the latest firmware.

That's all I can think of.
__________________

__________________
Steve
Have boat, will travel.
4str is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 December 2014, 10:37   #3
dnv
Member
 
Country: Germany
Town: Hamburg
Boat name: Der Delphin
Make: Parker
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 120HP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4str View Post
I don't have any experience with a Northstar, but look at the antenna and the cable connections. If you have a signal strength screen, take a look at that and see the strength and number of satellites you are getting while you are checking the connections. If only a few are showing and you have a good view of the sky then something is not right in your antenna/cable setup.



By Googling your make and model I noticed that firmware downloads are available. Make sure you have the latest firmware.



That's all I can think of.

Full signal on 10+ satellites. The plotter saying "aquiring", ie calculating the fix. Cabling or gremlins are not the issue ...
firmware may be a good point, never did an update
Thanks
__________________
dnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.