Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 February 2005, 09:45   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
I work for a Marine laboratory and use this stuff to fill housings before immersion
You don't have to use a vaccum pump, in fact you will probably brake the housing if you do. Just either do it in a bag full of gas or fill from one end and flush through the unit, then seal up.
__________________

__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2005, 09:59   #12
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: friesland
Boat name: smokkelaer
Make: revenger
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Optimax
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Bear
I work for a Marine laboratory and use this stuff to fill housings before immersion
You don't have to use a vaccum pump, in fact you will probably brake the housing if you do. Just either do it in a bag full of gas or fill from one end and flush through the unit, then seal up.

What kind of gas do you use ?

Dan.
__________________

__________________
danny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2005, 10:29   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: nr Lymington
Boat name: JU-JU
Make: Halmatic PAC22
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140.5 Mermaid
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Bear
I work for a Marine laboratory and use this stuff to fill housings before immersion
You don't have to use a vaccum pump, in fact you will probably brake the housing if you do....
Hang on you said it doesn’t work so why are you using it at work

If you are still getting misting which indicates that there is water present and that the gas you are adding is not replacing the gas (air) in the unit. The method I described is a method used in the aerospace industry and found to be a reliable method.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Bear
... You don't have to use a vaccum pump, in fact you will probably brake the housing if you do....
It would not break the unit because a vacuum is not absolute and is nothing when compared to the pressure exerted by pressure filling the until with gas.


Des
__________________
Scary Des is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2005, 13:24   #14
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: friesland
Boat name: smokkelaer
Make: revenger
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Optimax
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 279
Ok.

First I took an transparant bag. Made two hole, big enough to put my arms tight trough. Let somebody else put the unit in. and have him filled the bag up with gas.
I assembled the unit, and............ have put her in a bucket of water.
Tomorow will be the day to see if it worked.

Dan.

99% argongas and 1 % oxygen (dry oxygen).

We'll see.
__________________
danny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 February 2005, 20:59   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
I thought most things are nitrogen purged to avoid moisture!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 February 2005, 04:51   #16
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: friesland
Boat name: smokkelaer
Make: revenger
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Optimax
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 279
gas or not

Took her out the water this morning and first placed her on the central heating.
After 15 minutes beeing warmed up i've placed it in the freezer to see if any moisture took place on the the screen.
Non what so ever. Maybe it worked ?

Will place her on the boat and let you know if she will stay dry.

Dan.
__________________
danny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 February 2005, 16:01   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nr Faversham, Kent
Boat name: C Rider
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 80
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 479
Didnt test mine quite so hard, but after a full days use in cold conditions I can report the screen as fog free. Now just got to do the same with my so called waterproof radio. Wish Id bought an Icom now...
Ta ra.
__________________
Searider - The Best 5.4 x Far
Swifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 February 2005, 17:22   #18
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Dublin
Boat name: wizzard
Make: REDBAY
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 optimax
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 835
Water Filled Navman

Plastimo

Navman tracker 5600 / fish 4200


WHAT ABOUT RESIN FILLING THE UNITS
AS NAVMAN JUST PRETEND TO MAKE EM WATER PROF
__________________
www.dublinsislands.com

WHEN THE CAT IS AWAY THE MICE GO TO REDBAY..............
gavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 February 2005, 06:59   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nr Faversham, Kent
Boat name: C Rider
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 80
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 479
Hmmmmm, thanks Gavin. Didn't find where the water gets in but it only needs a drop to make it mist up. Like you said, cant fault the electronics but sealing the internals would cause it to run accross the front of the screen. You would need to put a gasket around the edge, but you can bet this will start to fog up.

Never mind,

Tim'mers.
__________________
Searider - The Best 5.4 x Far
Swifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2005, 09:37   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scary Des
Hang on you said it doesn’t work so why are you using it at work

If you are still getting misting which indicates that there is water present and that the gas you are adding is not replacing the gas (air) in the unit. The method I described is a method used in the aerospace industry and found to be a reliable method.
It would not break the unit because a vacuum is not absolute and is nothing when compared to the pressure exerted by pressure filling the until with gas.
The housings I am filling are watertight to 600 bar so you can take it as read they are truly watertight. I wouldn't be keen to try evacuating a unit as the 10-12psi air pressure would be enough to break things.
It worked for a while but basically moisture gets back in through the seals as it did before treating, the seals on the housings are not good enough to keep all moisture out when flexed.
__________________

__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.