Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 21 April 2005, 16:11   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Peak District
Boat name: Plastique
Make: PRO Sport
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF115 4st.
MMSI: 235015228
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Send a message via Yahoo to ScottyDog
Navbus / NMEA wiring ?!?

OK, so I've got the manuals for my Navman 7200 VHF and my 6600 Trackfish. So far so good. I can connect them using NAVBUS which will give me even more function than NMEA, even better. But wait, the polarity is given in one manual + and - (orange and blue) but not in the other manual. All it says is NAVBUS for both the blue and gray wires. Now, I know NAVBUS is a 2 way without seperate in and out so surely the blues go together and the orange to the gray, but wait, there is a label on the wires, the blue is now + and the gray -. What is going on, has anyone else had any experience in connecting using NAVBUS ?

As for the NMEA, is it common for there to be a ground and + and a seperate + and - for the in and out ? How come the - is not ground for both in and out ? i.e. common - and 2 signal lines.

Anyway I shall find out tomorrow when I power up. I shall post the results.

Hope someone can shed light on this.
__________________

__________________
ScottyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 April 2005, 18:43   #2
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyDog
As for the NMEA, is it common for there to be a ground and + and a seperate + and - for the in and out ?
Yes.
__________________

Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2005, 02:25   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Scottydog,

Any problems wiring it up give Navman a ring. You'll find its actually Plastimo that you speak to but they are very helpful.

The colour of the wiring is not standard across different manufacturers and can cause problems but Plastimo were able to help me.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2005, 04:26   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fleet
Boat name: Mollie J
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115HP Suzuki
MMSI: 235021476
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 29
Navman DSC Radio Wiring

I had the same problem connecting my 7100 and 5100 together to transfer position data to the radio.

I eventually found out that the manual was wrong. Seamark Nunn sent me a word document with the revised wiring which worked fine. If you send me a PM with your email address I'll send you a copy.

Alternatively contact Paul David @ Plastimo: 01489-778850

Russell
__________________
RussellH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2005, 05:22   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Yep,

Paul david is the guy to speak to he is a wizard.

Alternatively do a search on this site for my old wiring diagram with a Navman 7100.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2005, 08:12   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Peak District
Boat name: Plastique
Make: PRO Sport
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF115 4st.
MMSI: 235015228
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Send a message via Yahoo to ScottyDog
Thanks for the replies. I spoke to Navman tech at Plastimo/Navimo and they said it was a common complaint that the wiring loom was in a different colour combination for the VHF. Anyway I tried it and sure enough the VHF displayed the lat and long, trouble is the position it gave on the VHF was inverted, i.e. 53 deg N became S and 4 deg W was stated as E, a bit strange. The NMEA connection allowed me to use this data for the VHF and it displayed correctly and replicated the display on the GPS. Navman did not have an explanation for this so the plot thickens.

Just glad I did not have to use the red button otherwise there would have been someone in Holyhead faced with the option of launching a search and rescue op in Madagascar !
__________________
ScottyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2005, 14:17   #7
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Maybe the Navman is displaying its origination settings.

Aren't they made down under ?

Maybe its just a case of telling the Radio its actually in the Northern Hemisphere.
__________________
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2005, 18:28   #8
Member
 
Country: Australia
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Is the Trackfish by any chance in Simulate mode, or is it really saying that its position is an inversion of its real position? Or is it that the Trackfish has it right but when it gets to the VHF it's wrong?

If the latter 2 then that sounds like software in either the Trackfish or the VHF.

P
__________________

__________________
pelorus32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.