Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 February 2012, 16:44   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Newcastleton
Boat name: GLENNA
Make: Avon searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 25hp
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
MMSI Transfer

I have a VHF DSC and a chart plotter on my Shetland family four and was wandering if I can transfer them both onto my RIB along with the MMSI number. Or do I have to notify offcom and get a new MMSI number.
__________________

__________________
51ROB20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 17:00   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
The MMSI stays with the boat (Shetland). You can take the VHF but you'll almost certainly have to return it to the manufacturer or dealer to have the MMSI erased. If it's a NAVMAN then I can. You'll need a new MMSI for the RIB.

The plotter is not involved in the issue.
__________________

__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 17:17   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Newcastleton
Boat name: GLENNA
Make: Avon searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 25hp
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk View Post
The MMSI stays with the boat (Shetland). You can take the VHF but you'll almost certainly have to return it to the manufacturer or dealer to have the MMSI erased. If it's a NAVMAN then I can. You'll need a new MMSI for the RIB.

The plotter is not involved in the issue.
The vhf is an M Tech that I bought from Compas 24 so it looks like I wil have to return it to them to have the MMSI erased. I presume that they will install a new MMSI which I then have to register with offcom.
What sort of cost is involved in having the MMSI changed?
__________________
51ROB20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 17:26   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Manufacturer clears the MMSI, you enter the new one that OFCOM give you.

If it's a cheap radio, I wouldn't bother. Between postage and the charge from them, it's stacked against you. I've heard costs from Free up to 40 for the job, plus your postage...
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 18:13   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
I would just move the radio. You can go onto Ofcoms website and change the boat details...
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 18:18   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Newcastleton
Boat name: GLENNA
Make: Avon searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 25hp
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
When I bought it it cost me 150, it has DSC/Atis and the inland waterways setup for on the continant so it was not exactly cheap at the time of purchase. I don't know what it would cost to replace by todays prices but as we are both disabled and unable to work it has got to be cheaper to change the MMSI than to have to buy a new radio.
__________________
51ROB20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 18:25   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Newcastleton
Boat name: GLENNA
Make: Avon searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 25hp
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I would just move the radio. You can go onto Ofcoms website and change the boat details...
Thanks Chris, I didn't realise that you could do that, If it works you have just saved me quite a bit of money that I could not really afford to lay out at the moment.
__________________
51ROB20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 18:32   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
What is the collective view on the mtech for waterproofness on an open rib? Wonder if a cheap icon/sh might be better long term.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 18:38   #9
SPR
Trade member
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart
What is the collective view on the mtech for waterproofness on an open rib? Wonder if a cheap icon/sh might be better long term.
IMHO - open rib only option is icom or standard horizon - amazon had one for 140 ish - 411
__________________
SPRmarine / SPRtraining
RYA Training Courses & Safety Equipment Sales
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 18:58   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Newcastleton
Boat name: GLENNA
Make: Avon searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mariner 25hp
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
IMHO - open rib only option is icom or standard horizon - amazon had one for 140 ish - 411
As we will not be out in "rough" water and I am mounting the radio under the dashboard with a polycarbonate "shield" it will be well protected as our searider has a splash deck. The radio probably got more water on it on the shetland than it will on the avon.
__________________

__________________
51ROB20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.