Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 May 2014, 16:40   #1
Member
 
henryfreston's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 648
main wiring loom too long

The main wiring loom running from the control box to my outboard is far too long, I was just going to loop it up and cable tie it to the inside of the console but to be honest i would rather have it nice and neat.

Obviously it is a very vital cable so i am conscious that buggering it up would not be very smart.

What methods have other people used to shorten it? I was thing insulated butt connectors for individual wires then waterproof with glue lined shrink tube?

Oh and also what do you use to seal the trunk that contains all wires and cables where it meets the control box (don't want water running down it)

Henry
__________________

__________________
henryfreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 16:51   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Dont shorten it. Cable tie it up. If you cut it, you'll introduce a potential fail point.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 16:54   #3
Member
 
henryfreston's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Dont shorten it. Cable tie it up. If you cut it, you'll introduce a potential fail point.
ok thanks

the only other thing i just thought was you could remove the plug from the end, shorten it, then re-attach the plug?
__________________
henryfreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 16:58   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Nope, leave it alone. The best original loom is an unmodified loom. Do anything to it and you'll get water tracking up the cables.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 17:02   #5
Member
 
henryfreston's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Nope, leave it alone. The best original loom is an unmodified loom. Do anything to it and you'll get water tracking up the cables.
cable ties it is

think i'm going to have to replace the loom from the trim send to the gauge, it is only working intermittently and has electrical tape left right and center. I presume it has some water in it.
__________________
henryfreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 17:08   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
If it's only working intermittently I'd check the power feed and earth on the gauge 1st.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 17:10   #7
Member
 
henryfreston's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
If it's only working intermittently I'd check the power feed and earth on the gauge 1st.
right will give it a go when im down next in a couple of weeks with the plan to tiding everything up!

one quick question- is flowcoat ok to fill in gel coat chips on the chines?

sorry for question bombardment
__________________
henryfreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 17:20   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by henryfreston View Post
right will give it a go when im down next in a couple of weeks with the plan to tiding everything up!

one quick question- is flowcoat ok to fill in gel coat chips on the chines?
Yes, it's fine if they arent too deep. You know how to polish it etc so they don't show?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 17:26   #9
Member
 
henryfreston's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
Yes, it's fine if they arent too deep. You know how to polish it etc so they don't show?
not really, first time doing it. Well my first attempt failed because it didn't adhere to the gel coat? But then stupidly i didn't prepare the area with sanding etc.

So i presume you:

key area with around 240? grit
apply blob of flow
sand down the grades of sand paper until you get to 1200 grit, then polish?

Cheers
__________________
henryfreston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2014, 18:46   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Pretty much, but degrease with acetone or MEK or similar before you sand and again before you apply the gelcoat/flowcoat.

WEAR RUBBER GLOVES (not the blue mechanics ones as MEK and acetone dissolve them.
If they start to wrinkle like crazy, they're letting solvent through. Change them immediately.I use the black heavy duty Tesco ones-they don't seem to be destroyed by MEK)

If you're bothered about exact colour matching , 1200 grit and polish the area round the ding before you start sanding inside the ding.

You may find that you need to build it up with a couple of coats of gelcoat then add wax in styrene to the last coat to make it go off properly if it's a large chip.

Farecla Profile 300 is very very good for the polishing stage-you only need the one polish rather than going up in grades.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.