Old 03 September 2009, 17:28   #1

Town: Bury
Boat name: O' ALCHEMY
Make: Honwave 3.8 IE
Length: 3m +
Engine: Honda 15hp 4 stroke
MMSI: 235905781
Lowrance lhr 80 e

Can anyone offer any advice. I have been looking at various handheld VHF radios and noticed that this also has GPS. Any thoughts anyone?

I should also add that I will only be using it no further than a mile off coast and on the lakes etc.

As always your help and advice is much appreciated,

Jake
Old 03 September 2009, 18:57   #2
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
Jake,

I've no experience of it. But just googled it. From the description (although it doesn't actually say this) it looks like it might have full DSC capability built in. That would make it quite an attractive unit for many small boat owners, or anyone who worries about falling overboard when on their own.

Looks like you can pick it up for less than £200 and maybe less than £140... ...which is less about the same as a cheap handheld vhf and handheld gps.

If I was in the market this would be getting my attention - and I would be hunting one out to see in action if I were going to SBS. My one word of warning as a Lowrance GPS owner is that their manuals are terrible. I wonder if their technical author has ever used the kit!
Old 03 September 2009, 19:13   #3

The way I understand it is that there is a US version and a European version ( thats the little e at the end of the product code I believe.) As usual the US version is about £60 - £70 cheaper but I think some of their channels are different. Is this right? Am I better off paying the extra for the European version?

As for DSC capabilities I found this on Mailspeed marine website at the end of the product description
"**Please note that due to EU regulations regarding handheld VHF's this radio is not DSC enabled, however this does not affect any of the features listed above."

Any thoughts?

Jake
Old 03 September 2009, 20:13   #4