Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 August 2018, 09:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheddleton
Boat name: Black Hawk III
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: 300
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Lowrance HDS Gen 3 - Chart Scale / Zoom

Hi

Does anyone know if you can increase the chart scale / zoom out further on the chart screen of the HDS 3 with a Platinum plus chart.

At present on my HDS Gen 3 I only seem to be able to zoom out a few miles, where as with my old Garmin you could keep zooming out until you went off the map.

So for example when going round Anglesey, I can't zoom out to get the whole of the island and boat track on the chart screen.

Have consulted the manual but can't spot anything helpful.

Cheers

David
__________________

__________________
Vipermax80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 11:36   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,463
can you not move the cursor on that set
__________________

__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 11:57   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheddleton
Boat name: Black Hawk III
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: 300
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Yes you can move the cursor, but it doesn't help that much, as the boat position is lost, still moves at the same low scale, so it takes an age to scroll across the Irish sea for example and if you try and move the cursor too quickly, especially if the boat is moving, its crashes the chart as it can't load up as fast as you are scrolling / moving.

Just want to be able to zoom out, perhaps should have stuck with the Garmin, as my current handheld can do it without an problems.
__________________
Vipermax80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 12:34   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,235
RIBase
Lowrance HDS Gen 3 - Chart Scale / Zoom

I have the HDS gen 3 with a platinum plus & a couple of "ordinary" charts. You can zoom out all the way to the chart limits in both versions. I'm not quite sure what your problem is. Can you zoom out & see the whole of the area covered by the chart? You should be able to.
The photos below show the Western Europe standard chart fully zoomed out with the UK platinum plus chart area just visible in the top. The second photo shows us zoomed in at our current position, we're inland at the mo so no detail.

Ps, have you updated the firmware, I recall an issue displaying Navionics in early versions.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3841.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	145.8 KB
ID:	126367Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3842.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	125.1 KB
ID:	126368
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 13:10   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheddleton
Boat name: Black Hawk III
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: 300
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Thanks Dave, that's what I was hoping / expecting, however currently when I try to zoom out it stops at about 5 miles max - so won't go anywhere near the edge of the chart (think it was the Platinum plus UK & Ireland). Pressing either the touch screen zoom or the manual zoom keys when its reached the circa 5 mile point just results in a bleep from the unit, as if its saying "I cant go any further"

I am bit baffled as I can't find anything in the manual or in the unit that would adjust / lock the scale. The only thing I have noticed is that the screen scale (shown in your pictures on the bottom right hand side of the screen) does not appear on my unit and it should!
__________________
Vipermax80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 13:12   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheddleton
Boat name: Black Hawk III
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: 300
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
And no I haven't updated the firmware, so will google that, is it easy to do?

Thanks
__________________
Vipermax80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 14:15   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,235
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vipermax80 View Post
And no I haven't updated the firmware, so will google that, is it easy to do?

Thanks


Easy to do

http://ww2.lowrance.com/en-GB/Softwa...-Upgrade-v-70/
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2018, 14:16   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,235
RIBase
Lowrance HDS Gen 3 - Chart Scale / Zoom

Check you're not in Demo mode. It's buried in the settings menu
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2018, 13:22   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheddleton
Boat name: Black Hawk III
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: 300
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Upgraded the software and checked demo mode - problem was still there - started pressing buttons - turned 3D mode off and result, chart scale reappears and I can zoom out to edge of the chart.

Manual doesn't say that the 3D mode effects the zoom, but it seem to, despite the fact you can pan across the chart, can only assume the graphics / level of detail causes an issue.
__________________
Vipermax80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2018, 13:39   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9,235
RIBase
At least you got sorted. I didn't realise you were in 3D mode
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2018, 13:54   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheddleton
Boat name: Black Hawk III
Make: Osprey
Length: 7m +
Engine: 300
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 40
Neither did I! But thanks for help, good to know its all working and now updated.
__________________

__________________
Vipermax80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×