Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15 October 2012, 12:50   #1
RIBnet supporter
C2 RIBS's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Ideas for new fittings

Currently negotiating new boat options for 2013. Unsure on hull yet but keen to hear about Chart plotters with AIS options. I intend to look at an active AIS unit ( sea-me or similar) which would allow me to switch on AIS positions as an overlay on chart if weather changes rather than radar. Is there a Garmin or similar product people use now and recommend?
Rib charter and Rib hire with
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2012, 13:37   #2
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Aintree
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150's
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 251
I use the garmin AIS 600 transponder. Works very well for both being seen and seeing. It also has a silent switch. Even though the websites like ship finder don't always show you the coastguard always seems to pick us up. It displays on a garmin 750 which works great. Did use an icom receive only ais and that worked well on the garmin display before

redthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2012, 13:52   #3
RIBnet supporter
Erin's Avatar
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,796
I don't think it matters which AIS unit you use, so long as it is NMEA2000. I'm pretty sure most plotters will have an option in a menu somewhere to turn it on or off to keep screen clutter down. My Garmin talks seamlessly with my Digital Yacht AIT2000. The silent switch only stops you transmitting not receiving. I only ever turn mine to silent whilst on land if I power up the boat.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 October 2012, 15:02   #4
Country: UK - England
Town: Poole
Boat name: El Mono
Make: Ribtec 9M
Length: 9m +
Engine: Yanmar 315/Bravo III
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 290
We've had one of the early Digital Yacht transponders (AIT250) on board our sailing yacht for 3-4 years now, linked in to a Standard Horizon plotter, and a PC running OpenCPN - both work seamlessly. And service from Standard Horizon is superb.

Position the aerial as high as you can, and use the best aerial possible - AIS B transmit is only 2W (as opposed to your VHF radio's 25W max). We have a Helix stub antenna mounted on the radar arch that's fairly useless - when I delivered a friend's yacht to to Scotland last year, he had a full size aerial mounted in the same place, and the effective range of his AIS transmit and receive was far greater than ours!
paulbrown22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.