Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 April 2010, 14:28   #1
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Icom Battery Replace or new Unit?

The battery on my Icom M31 seems to have just died...won't hold charge anymore....

Question is....does anyone know where the cheapest place to get a replacement is?

OR is it cheaper to just get a new HH (not worried re brand....SH seemed cheap when I looked last).

............If so, any heads up on cheap offers?

Thanks in anticipation,

Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2010, 16:15   #2
Member
 
Avocet's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Poole
Boat name: Grimalkin
Make: Ribcraft 750 Sport
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzi 250
MMSI: 235050647
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 899
I think you'll find that the M31 is now discontinued but batteries are still available for it at around just under 50.00. The cheapest SH is around 80.00, although the better ones are in excess of 120.00. I guess you pay your money and take your choice.

There are some interesting comments on http://www.ybw.com/forums/showthread.php?t=114446

I have a M71 as back up. Rarely used but holds its charge like nothing: I test it each time before setting off and tend to leave it turned off otherwise. I have only needed to charge it around three times in as many years
__________________

__________________
Avocet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2010, 03:10   #3
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Cheers Avocet....the M31 does have that stooopid feature which means it drains down all the time!

Think I'll probably get a new HH and see if i can get hold of one of the AA battery trays and keep the M31 as a spare.....

Any Trade members want to do me a good deal on a HH?

Thanks.

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2010, 08:09   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Tenby
Boat name: Dash Duck
Make: BWM
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 60's
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 165
you should be able to get a battery case for the M31 that holds normal AA batteries. I dont know where you can get them now, but i know that when we bought the M31 for my local sailing club we bought these AA cases. They fit exactly the same way in the unit but you can bring spares (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Icom-BP-223-Ba...item5638cf68ee).

The other thing you maybe able to do is buy a 12v cable for the M31 charger so you can charge it whilst on your rib (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Icom-Cable-Cig...item414c3238a5).

Hope some of this helps.
__________________
ed_dash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2010, 08:12   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avocet View Post
I have a M71 as back up. Rarely used but holds its charge like nothing: I test it each time before setting off and tend to leave it turned off otherwise. I have only needed to charge it around three times in as many years
Yep. I've got its predecessor the M1 Euro V and I can't get it to die either. I keep mine as a backup, but do occasionally use it and I haven't charged it for at least 2 years.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2010, 09:37   #6
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Cheers guys...

ed....will probably get hold of one of the tyrays and keep the m31 as back up /spare....thanks!

Erin /Avocet, thanks for the recommendation.....but, I've recently changed the plotter and vhf on the boat for Standard horizon kit, have been pleased with it, so have just bought a SH H/H from mike cc (all gadets marine) on here....Cheers Mike

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2010, 10:06   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Tenby
Boat name: Dash Duck
Make: BWM
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 60's
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 165
no problem, glad i could actual help for a change rather than be the one asking for it.
__________________
ed_dash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2010, 05:36   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,556
spend your 80quid on a SH.

http://www.marine-super-store.com/po...66++++++++++++
__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2010, 07:18   #9
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Wave View Post

Hey Stu....

done just that, but with Mike all gadgets marine on here....

BTW I'm heading through Cardiff next Friday (fleeting visit, heading on to a wedding in Bath whilst trying to ensure my wife avoids the St.Davids II centre).....can drop that stuff up to your mams if that would work?

Let me know....hope you're well, speak soon.

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2010, 12:18   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fife
Boat name: Tornado
Make: Tornado
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha 80hp Outboard
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 128
I think I've got the the same problem with my M71, been on the charger for the past two days know, but it's not showing all three battery bars on the display. I'm considering just getting a new battery as it could be cheaper in the long run :/
__________________

__________________
severncoxswain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.