Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 January 2011, 17:12   #31
Member
 
Screaming04's Avatar
 
Country: Canada
Town: Vancouver, BC Canada
Boat name: Black Ops
Make: Zodiac Hurricane 733
Length: 7m +
Engine: OceanPro 150hp x 2
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
Sadly US only!
I've got the free version of "ship finder" in my iphone. I just scrolled over to the UK and could find ais ship targets all over the south of England. Up the west coast to Glasgow and the east coast to Newcastle... nothing in Edinburgh.

The site works by having info from remote VHF AIS receivers plumbed into a server. If they don't have a receiver in the area you're operating, you're out of luck.
__________________

__________________
Screaming04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2011, 04:18   #32
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Aye, but MemoryMap have a deal going at the mo that is basically the entire UK charts for 40, liceneced to run on 1 PC & 1 "mobile device". For another 20 or so they'll sell you an Iphone App.
I had the Navionics App on my last (Android) phone and it was fantastic!
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2011, 04:19   #33
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Screaming04 View Post
I've got the free version of "ship finder" in my iphone.
Go that one as well!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2011, 05:29   #34
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
Go that one as well!
Me too, works really well

There's a similar one for aircraft as well which is quite interesting
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2011, 09:29   #35
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
I had the Navionics App on my last (Android) phone and it was fantastic!
Oh good.

You just saved me posting that question!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 January 2011, 09:39   #36
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
I had the Navionics App on my last (Android) phone and it was fantastic!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Oh good.

You just saved me posting that question!
I've got that one as well (iPhone), can be a bit slow but I think that's the phone as it seems to be generally slowing up recently.

I particulary like the tide data on it, I find it easier to use than Tide Planner
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2011, 12:09   #37
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I was out today and installed mine onto the RIB while I was changing out both batteries. I hooked it up but am getting no input into the plotter.
I suspect its a setting issue on the plotter but just in case has anyone got one of these working on a lowrance and how did you set up and connect it.
As usual the lowrance instructions don't help and I can't seem to set up the ports to "see" 0183, I think.
Anybody done it and got it working?
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2011, 14:03   #38
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,590
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
I was out today and installed mine onto the RIB while I was changing out both batteries. I hooked it up but am getting no input into the plotter.
I suspect its a setting issue on the plotter but just in case has anyone got one of these working on a lowrance and how did you set up and connect it.
As usual the lowrance instructions don't help and I can't seem to set up the ports to "see" 0183, I think.
Anybody done it and got it working?
Have you set the correct baud rate on the plotter.AIS is usually high speed 38400
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2011, 14:16   #39
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I think the problem after a bit of searching on the net is that models smaller than 8" don't seem to have a capability of seeing 0183 inputs. Still looking but as usual Lowrance instructions are fairly confusing and poor.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2011, 15:12   #40
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
I think the problem after a bit of searching on the net is that models smaller than 8" don't seem to have a capability of seeing 0183 inputs. Still looking but as usual Lowrance instructions are fairly confusing and poor.
Bruce, not sure which model you have, but e.g. the HDS-5 says it can see 0183 input and lists AIS in its alarm functions - which implies it also knows how to deal with AIS data it receives? The difference with the 8/10" models seems to be 2-inputs rather than one.

EDIT: Bruce - does this help? http://www.digitalyacht.co.uk/files/...e%20HDS5+7.pdf also discussed here: http://continuouswave.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/002662.html
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.