Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 February 2008, 17:13   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: South West Scotland
Boat name: Blue Ribbin
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mariner 75
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 54
Garmin Software

Hi

Anyone got any knowledge, advice, opinions on this ebay item?

I have the GPSMap and was looking to purchase the appropriate charts on data card or the Atlantic CD - but when I see this, whats the catch?

Search ebay for - "GARMIN MAPSOURCE BLUECHART ATLANTIC 9.5 FULL & LATEST
UNLOCK CODES FOR PC AND GPS PROVIDED FREE OF CHARGE"


Sorry - not attached a link before!
__________________

__________________
Carrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 February 2008, 17:31   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Make: Ribtec
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 47
Click me!

I bought a Garmin 298 from the US last year, and I had a good look around at the time for the cheapest way to get unlocked UK maps for it. I found that there were certain folk that obviously had software that could genetate unlock codes for a small fee. Basically, for any given GPS Serial number and Map product, these guys could generate the unique unlock code to allow you to download and use these maps on your GPS.

I think what this guy is selling is the same - CD with Mapsource and the latest Atlantic charts, plus a code that will let you view on your PC and download to your GPS or data card.

This is probably illegal etc, just so you know.
__________________

__________________
bigNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 February 2008, 15:06   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Ribell
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 195
NEVER pay for pirated software.

The testing of software is one thing, but to profit from ripping off the person who wrote is just wrong!
__________________
v666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 February 2008, 15:22   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: XS
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Yeah fancy chargeing for it!!!! Its all over the net. For free.

Its still a form of stealing though.

I would report them to ebay and Garmin UK.
__________________
Rooster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 March 2008, 08:56   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Honda 90HP
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 28
Garmin charts way way to expensive

If Garmin priced their charts more reasonably I for one would buy more. If I charter abroad I would like to buy charts for my handheld, but at Garmin prices no way. The last charts I got in the USA less than half the price you would pay in rip-off Briton!

As purely a technical exercise I tried the program garminunlocker.exe and indeed it did unlock all of my charts and make them downloadable to the GPS.

You have to wonder at Gamin's technical competence if it is this easy to hack their stuff.
__________________
Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 March 2008, 15:48   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas View Post
If Garmin priced their charts more reasonably I for one would buy more. If I charter abroad I would like to buy charts for my handheld, but at Garmin prices no way. The last charts I got in the USA less than half the price you would pay in rip-off Briton!

As purely a technical exercise I tried the program garminunlocker.exe and indeed it did unlock all of my charts and make them downloadable to the GPS.

You have to wonder at Gamin's technical competence if it is this easy to hack their stuff.
WOW just tried the same and have unlocked every MAP in the world.

I wonder if it will work on the latest map CD (2008)
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 April 2008, 18:00   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fleet
Boat name: Hudson
Make: Ribeye Sport
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha 150
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
WOW just tried the same and have unlocked every MAP in the world.

I wonder if it will work on the latest map CD (2008)
Hmm... I just wonder if you acquired any other interesting 'features' on your PC as a result of voluntarily running an exe file of dubious origins. Malware, Trojians etc.

Not sure I'd be too quick running dodgy software of Russian origin on my PC. It's asking for trouble. At least I'd be very sure of backing everything up and making sure I was not networked to anything else.
__________________
RichardB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2008, 12:42   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: SOLD
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 794
My i do a slight change of tack on this tread
I have a garmin 76 C hand held which is about 7 years old
i changed to Raymarine 3 years ago. I never had the down load for the chart put on it so it only shows the very basic out line of land. in a nut shell as its an old unit and i only want it as a back up. is there a cheep way of loading the maps onto it
i only need the solent over to channel Islands.
I know i,am a cheep skate
__________________
Roy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2008, 12:51   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
See click me in post number 2.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2008, 16:11   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardB View Post
Hmm... I just wonder if you acquired any other interesting 'features' on your PC as a result of voluntarily running an exe file of dubious origins. Malware, Trojians etc.

Not sure I'd be too quick running dodgy software of Russian origin on my PC. It's asking for trouble. At least I'd be very sure of backing everything up and making sure I was not networked to anything else.

Don't worry Richard I ran it on my spare Laptop first and ran some virus checks and Spybot software on it and it came through clean.

Thanks for your concern though
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.