Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 March 2013, 09:44   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Orpington and Lymington
Boat name: Minxy
Make: Avon Adventurer 5.6
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Merc Mariner
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 154
Garmin gpsmap 551s

Hi I have recently purchased a garmin gpsmap 551s very pleased with it however I would like to be able to power up the unit when I'm and it is away from the boat so I can update the software, upload waypoints and download tracks using sd cards!

Has anyone done this I looked for a mains charger but haven't had much luck yet
__________________

__________________
gooner-paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2013, 11:33   #2
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooner-paul View Post
Hi I have recently purchased a garmin gpsmap 551s very pleased with it however I would like to be able to power up the unit when I'm and it is away from the boat so I can update the software, upload waypoints and download tracks using sd cards!

Has anyone done this I looked for a mains charger but haven't had much luck yet
I'm not aware of any 'mains charger' for a 551.

Why don't you just put the waypoints and tracks on the SD card and take that home and whilst it's there, check for software updates. If there are any, put them on the SD card and take it back. Easy
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2013, 15:38   #3
Member
 
NeilH's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brockenhurst
Boat name: Fizz
Make: Yamaha
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50hp
MMSI: 235071207
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 210
I bought a spare cable and wired it up to a little 12v battery. Played with it a couple of times at home and it worked perfectly. Haven't actually done anything useful with it since though!
Cheers
Neil
NeilH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 March 2013, 15:39   #4
Member
 
TRevor Lawson's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Stotfold
Boat name: kimozo 2
Make: Ribtec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 115 efi 4 st
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 228
chart plotter

I also have a 551s, and like you, would like to view at home, as it only uses 2 wires ( unless all other stuff used ) i thought about making up a power lead for the 2 pins and connect to a battery at home will have to be carefull not to damage pins in connector though.
__________________
TRevor Lawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2013, 03:37   #5
AJ.
RIBnet supporter
 
AJ.'s Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: Impulse
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,020
There is a simpler way round this and download Garmin homeport!

I have the same plotter take a copy of the maps and your tracks, weypoints, routes from the plotter onto the SD card, then put the SD card into your pc open Homeport and all your plotter info and maps will be on your PC you can then delete and clear up all of the above and use it for planning by making routes on the PC and copy back to the SD card and update your plotter. Homeport cost 29.
__________________
AJ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 March 2013, 05:12   #6
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
I bought a spare lead from ebay,( carrickbend,marinesupplier down in the west country) around 20 genuine Garmin lead for the 551. Connect it to a booster battery thing from Halfords with inline fuse protector. Works a treat !Load all waypoints from home now.
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2013, 01:22   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Twin 50 Mariners
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 185
Same thing except that instead of wiring up a battery I have a 240V plug with a 12V cigarette socket on the back of it that I came across somewhere - ie its a wee 240VAC-12V dc transformer in a plug
__________________
Smithyyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2013, 06:31   #8
Member
 
Country: Belgium
Town: hallaar
Boat name: Bliksem
Make: ribquest
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ. View Post
There is a simpler way round this and download Garmin homeport!

I have the same plotter take a copy of the maps and your tracks, weypoints, routes from the plotter onto the SD card, then put the SD card into your pc open Homeport and all your plotter info and maps will be on your PC you can then delete and clear up all of the above and use it for planning by making routes on the PC and copy back to the SD card and update your plotter. Homeport cost 29.
the way to go is Homeport from Garmin: easy, cheap, fast, ....
__________________
bliksem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 March 2013, 07:00   #9
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by bliksem View Post

the way to go is Homeport from Garmin: easy, cheap, fast, ....
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.