Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 November 2013, 03:58   #11
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: hillmorton
Boat name: fisherman
Make: Ramco
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 hp outboard
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
good idea will try that will let you know how I get on thanks for your help
__________________

__________________
jeff84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 November 2013, 04:00   #12
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
I've got a couple of new arimar transducer with speed logs
__________________

__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 November 2013, 04:05   #13
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: hillmorton
Boat name: fisherman
Make: Ramco
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 hp outboard
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
speed log?
__________________
jeff84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 November 2013, 04:26   #14
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
I haven't got a transducer (next big purchase is a plotter/GPS/transducer combi!) but I've heard that stern mounted transducers can be affected by height above/below/on the waterline, and also distance from the prop (bubbles in the water affecting performance).

It might be worth checking the depth and distance from the prop - maybe experimenting by mounting it to a piece of wood and moving that around rather than drilling the transom?
__________________
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 November 2013, 04:29   #15
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: hillmorton
Boat name: fisherman
Make: Ramco
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 hp outboard
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
I could try that its still the same with engine off to
__________________
jeff84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 November 2013, 05:21   #16
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff84 View Post
speed log?
There's a little paddle wheel on the ones I've got, give you speed if your plotter can cope with it, usually they can
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 November 2013, 11:21   #17
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,584
RIBase
There may be a setting in the menu that tells the unit what to use as it's speed data source, gps, paddle wheel or pitot tube. Assuming you have a GPS in the system, set it to GPS
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.