Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 July 2011, 16:10   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Here we go again


\/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/ \/
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2011, 16:28   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Here
Boat name: doggypaddle
Make: Avon 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhar View Post
It doesn't get wet inside the console at all, we use the boat on the Thames and very rarely in choppy water.

The marine dealers that installed the outboard put it in, I would have thought they knew what they were doing.
well I dont think they did, the wire from the little glimpse I can see of the conductor looks like its not tinned either, another really bad idea on a boat.
I am sure both will get picked up if you have a survey done for an IWA licence.
I am not going to comment further other than to re iterate they are shit fuses, shit fuseboxes, period. Thats why the car industry stopped using them. Good luck with it.....cover it in vaseline before it starts to corrode.
__________________

__________________
I am usually not as green as i am cabbage looking.
doggypaddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 July 2011, 16:45   #13
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by doggypaddle View Post
well I dont think they did, the wire from the little glimpse I can see of the conductor looks like its not tinned either, another really bad idea on a boat.
I am sure both will get picked up if you have a survey done for an IWA licence.
I am not going to comment further other than to re iterate they are shit fuses, shit fuseboxes, period. Thats why the car industry stopped using them. Good luck with it.....cover it in vaseline before it starts to corrode.
Seconded.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 02:31   #14
Member
 
Crusher's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Bubbas Bouy
Length: 7m +
Engine: Mercruiser
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 626
RIBase
I agree with previous comment these are not great, but if it's not broken then why fix it? Just keep an eye on it from time to time to ensure it's not starting to corrode...
The fuse rating, I seem to remember, is denoted by the fuse body colour. A visit to your local motor factors should tell you. And you definitely should be carry some spares!

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 02:38   #15
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusher View Post
if it's not broken then why fix it?
Because when these go wrong, it could cause major issues.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 03:24   #16
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxhar View Post
It doesn't get wet inside the console at all, we use the boat on the Thames and very rarely in choppy water.

The marine dealers that installed the outboard put it in, I would have thought they knew what they were doing.
I am a boat builder and I can tell you we would never put anything like that in anything that floats, if you want to wait for it to go wrong before you change it that is your prerogative but it's not if, it's when!

You asked for advice and I think you must be able to tell what you're being told by now.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 03:55   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Actually, that fuse holder is marine spec, and was in the Sowester catalogue as such. I wouldn't use one myself, but I'm sure it'll be ok for your application.
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 08:40   #18
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler
Actually, that fuse holder is marine spec, and was in the Sowester catalogue as such...
and the Titanic was advertised as a cruise liner somewhere :-)
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 09:33   #19
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Wouldn't be my first choice either but just for info they are colour coded for rating and readily available.

VWP - fuses
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2011, 14:08   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
If I'm reading the photo right, they're 8A fuses x 4 = 32A max possible load fed, via what looks like a 1.5mm2 length of cheap flex. Corrosion might be the least of his worries. At least the heat from the cable will keep the condensation away.

Did someone once mention that fuses were for circuit protection

ee lad, tha can't educate pork
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.