Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 April 2004, 06:47   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
Fuel measurement.

I feel the need to monitor my fuel consumption....

Had a look through the "archives" and couldn't put my finger on a definitve answer, so my question is...

Can I add a "fuel flow" sensor to my Garmin 182, or do I need a stand alone piece of kit/guage? If so, what, where from and how much?

Cheers all!
__________________

__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 07:37   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portchester, Hants.
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 584
Send a message via AIM to Aging Youth Send a message via Yahoo to Aging Youth
Fuel Monitoring

Hi Jono,

From memory there are two types on the market "Flow Scan" and "Navman" distributed my Plastimo.

Flow Scan is very expensive; about a grand I think, but has very good reviews and tends to lean on the commercial use. I understand it can monitor hundreds of litre per hour.

The navman unit is either part of the GPS which is what I have fitted or as a seperate display unit.

I discussed this with other members late last year on this thread and from the info provided whent with the Navman to start with. Once I sussed out how to calibrate it. The unit seems to work well and is fairly accurate. I did not have any type of fuel monitoring system before other than the good old dip stick.

Hope this helps.

Regards
__________________

__________________
Aging Youth
Aging Youth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 07:57   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Nautique
Length: 6m +
Engine: PCM 5.7l
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,082
Garmin don't do fuel flow sensors so you will need a stand alone unit.

Navman will do you a fuel kit, it looks great and from all the diagrams im looking at in their catalogue you could fit it yourself in 10 mins.

http://www.navman.com/marine/products/fuel/fuel3100/
http://www.vitelectronics.com/nm3100f.html
__________________
simmons0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 08:49   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Over here
Boat name: S.S. Nobstick
Make: Three Wise Monkeys
Length: 3m +
Engine: 44lbs of thrust....
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,115
Thanks for the info guys, unfortunately Navman's UK agent's website (Plastimo) seems to be fubar.. will try again later!
__________________
Jono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 08:55   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
.....you could fit it yourself in 10 mins.



How often have you said that before you started something? Dinner's ready............ I'll just be 5 minutes, nearly finished......
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 09:03   #6
Member
 
stevetheboat's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Worcestershire
Make: Various
Engine: O/B + Sterndrives Di
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 243
Navman Fuel Flow

Hi,

If your having trouble getting through to Navman site try going via our links page at www.nautequipe.co.uk and click I have just tried this and it works fine.
You will find all the details on Navman range there, I hope.

Ps As Garmin dealer I can confirm no such item is available for any Garmin unit.

Regards,

Steve
__________________
stevetheboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 09:48   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Weymouth
Boat name: Splitz
Make: Ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 130
MMSI: 235015866
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 78
I too have gone down the Navman route. I have chosen to use a Navman FishFinder 4200 as my fuel computer, the depth is also interfaced to the Navman plotter I have (F/Fis NEMA compliant). Seemed to give me more options than just fuel data and on a bigger screen. But I didn't compared cost vs a standalone untit as previously mentioned.

Depth, Fish, Speed, Temp & Fuel.

In the process of fitting at the mo.

Will let u know how I get on with it.
__________________
steedthrust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 13:29   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Halcyon
Make: Redbay Exp Canopy
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yamaha ME422 240hp
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 64
I fitted the Navman fuel flow last year along with the Navman 4200 fishfinder. Once calibrated it gives very accurate readings. Also as the 4200 gives speed info through the multihead transducer it continually calculates fuel economy figures based on the current fuel flow. You therefore get a continual reading of litres per hour as well as Nautical Miles per litre. Very useful on a long run as you can set up for the most economical speed. It gives some surprising results. On a flat day I found the most economical speed was only 6kn short of my max 29kn v 35kn ( This was on Mariner 75 four stroke).

Have still to work out best figures with new engine as it is still being run in
__________________
Rick
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 13:31   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Highlands
Boat name: Quicksilver
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mariner 15hp
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,771
Ask Brian what is fitted in Cyanide, 'cus I can tell you it was damned useful (and acurate) on our uk circumnavigation.

Keith Hart
__________________
Small boat - BIG truck

www.photo4x4.co.uk
Keith Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2004, 14:25   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Glad this topic has been posted - looks like I will have to treat myself to a Navman setup - optimum fuel figures can be very suprising!

Same with cars - many people used to think that 56mph was the most economical speed - varies greatly with different types of vehicle.

One problem appears to be measuring fuel flow with modern efi type engines - seems that you have to sample fuel flow over a period of time - say 30 seconds so the computer can average a reading.

If you have an efi make sure the system will work for you - Naman stuff seems suitable but a bit more reading up first!
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.