Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 April 2004, 12:24   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Cardiff
Make: Humber Destroyer 5.5
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp OB
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 499
DSC VHF - Query

I've been trying to find this info in various places on the web but have not suceeded can any of you guys help.

When a DSC enabled VHF receives a distress call or distress acknowledgement does it plot the position on a connected GPS / plotter ? If so is this a standard feature or only availble on certain models?

I have seen various mentions about "position polling" to enable you to request the position of a vessal but again I can't work out whether this just comes back on the VHF or is transfered to the GPS / Plotter ?

I'm looking at the following radio's and think I have settled on the Navman any comments from anyone ?

XM DSC/VHF
Nasa SX35
Silva S10
Navman 7100

Many thanks

Mike
__________________

__________________
www.marine-rescue.co.uk
Mike B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 14:00   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brixham, Devon
Boat name: FLY-BY/FLY-BY II
Make: Ribcraft/Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 175/Yamaha 30
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 311
To enable the VHF DSC to plot the position on the chart plotter it would need to have an NMEA output. As far as I am aware vhf dsc's only have an nmea input FROM the GPS/Plotter.
However, the combined VHF/DSC/GPS unit from Silva may well have an output to a plotter so maybe it would place the distress alert as a waypoint.
__________________

__________________
David

Torbay & Dartmouth Powerboat School
01803 855508
The South West Premier RYA Powerboat Training Centre
www.powerboat-instruction.co.uk
David Hickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 14:01   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West London
Boat name: Asp
Make: A BLACK Stealthly Metzeler
Length: 4m + really stealthy
Engine: Johnson 70hp VRO - not steathly at all!
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 231
Don't forget the Icom models!!!
they work well, & have fantastic after sales support.

Pete
__________________
Suzuki416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 14:06   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Nautique
Length: 6m +
Engine: PCM 5.7l
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,082
But an Icom DSC costs 3 times as much as any of the models listed above.

Im having a Silva S10.
__________________
simmons0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 14:14   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brixham, Devon
Boat name: FLY-BY/FLY-BY II
Make: Ribcraft/Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 175/Yamaha 30
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 311
I must confess I use an Icom M601, M401 and 2 * M1 euro v's, 1st class kit.
__________________
David

Torbay & Dartmouth Powerboat School
01803 855508
The South West Premier RYA Powerboat Training Centre
www.powerboat-instruction.co.uk
David Hickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 14:29   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: Nautique
Length: 6m +
Engine: PCM 5.7l
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,082
I agree, you cant beat icom. But i can't afford 600+
__________________
simmons0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 15:13   #7
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Dublin
Boat name: wizzard
Make: REDBAY
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 optimax
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 835
nmea

I know the later Navman stuff is nmea but read my posts here
Fuel measurement.
__________________
www.dublinsislands.com

WHEN THE CAT IS AWAY THE MICE GO TO REDBAY..............
gavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 16:19   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
My judgement is still out on Silva, My S15 only lasted three months before dying. They are reoplacing it under warranty but if it goes again I am looking for a refund and buy a radio I can rely on.
__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 16:48   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Penzance
Boat name: Dark Angel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85
Engine: Mariner 90HP Four Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
The Icom 601 will do it.

Mark
__________________
marknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2004, 17:28   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brixham, Devon
Boat name: FLY-BY/FLY-BY II
Make: Ribcraft/Avon
Length: 6m +
Engine: Honda 175/Yamaha 30
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 311
Will it? Great. So when the Ribcraft finally arrives as the M601 will be connected to a Garmin 188C it should work both ways?
__________________

__________________
David

Torbay & Dartmouth Powerboat School
01803 855508
The South West Premier RYA Powerboat Training Centre
www.powerboat-instruction.co.uk
David Hickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.