Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 January 2008, 10:54   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lincoln
Boat name: blazer
Make: BWM
Length: 6m +
Engine: YAMAHA 115hp
MMSI: 235059902
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 115
comunication problem

Is there a bright spark out there that could tell a non electrical minded plumber which wire or wires to connect a Garmin 152 gps to a Nexus 2000 radio so that they comunicate thanks for looking.
__________________

__________________
shirehorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 January 2008, 12:51   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Do you have the manuals? You need to ID the NMEA 183 send and receive on each unit. The send on one goes to receive on the other, and vice-versa. If there is a third ground connection on each one, you may need to connect those as well.

On the Garmin, Blue will be Com1 NMEA out (send); Brown will be Com1 NMEA in (receive.) If needed, black will be the signal ground.

Can't find a Nexus manual, so you'll have to check yours.

Set up each unit so they're talking at the same speed (baud rate; usually 4800 is used as default, I think); and make sure the parity settings match.

Good luck;

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 January 2008, 16:06   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lincoln
Boat name: blazer
Make: BWM
Length: 6m +
Engine: YAMAHA 115hp
MMSI: 235059902
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 115
Thank you very much for your reply jyasaki the in and out bit i understand i think but the speed bit is over my head.
__________________
shirehorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 January 2008, 16:17   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by shirehorse View Post
but the speed bit is over my head.
it is a setting on the software on the gps unit. Your radio is probably fixed to work at one speed - and won't have an option to change it. You need to find the menu option on the gps that lets you set the speed (probably called "baud rate") and set this to be the same as the radio. You may also need to tell the gps to use NMEA to send the data (again a setting probably on the same menu) as it often isn't the default option.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 January 2008, 16:31   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lincoln
Boat name: blazer
Make: BWM
Length: 6m +
Engine: YAMAHA 115hp
MMSI: 235059902
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 115
Will i find this baud speed in the radio manual and is this nmea the parity setting jky is saying sorry to be a pain but this stuff is on the edge of my brain.
__________________
shirehorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 January 2008, 16:52   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Don't worry about the baud rate, it's 4800 and you can't alter it.

On your 152: Press the menu button twice to take you to the main menu. Go up or down to the Com tab on the left. Go right to the 'Serial Data Format' field, press Enter. Go down and select the option 'NMEA in/NMEA out'. Press Enter to fix your choice. When you're done, press Quit to take you out of the menu system and back to the user pages.

You need to connect the blue wire on the Garmin cable to the NMEA IN connector of your radio (it may be referred to as Rx) and the black wire on the Garmin cable, which is ground (battery negative), also to your radio. I don't know your radio so you'll have to read your manual (always a good idea) to find the connections for it.
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2008, 10:56   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: lincoln
Boat name: blazer
Make: BWM
Length: 6m +
Engine: YAMAHA 115hp
MMSI: 235059902
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 115
Could somebody tell me if you can buy the plug for the Garmin gps aerial cable so i can cut off the original one to thread it through the ducting. Also the name of the plug thank you .
__________________
shirehorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2008, 11:21   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Most likely, the plug for a GPS antenna will be proprietary.

As far as I know, there shouldn't be any problem with splicing it, as long as you take care with it. (Anecdotal; I've heard of others doing this with no problem.)

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2008, 11:22   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Well you can cut it off, but don't expect any warranty on the GPS antenna!

Garmin have a rubber boot arrangement on it which would keep the connection waterproof - probably hard to do at home. You could use self-amalgamating tape to make the best of it.

It's a BNC type for RG58 cable (VHF type).You can get a solder type here.

You can get twist on ones as well but wouldn't use for this. May also be able to dismantle the original one.

How well it lasts depends if your're bracket-mounting and taking it on and off every time or flushmounting with a permanent connection.
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 January 2008, 11:27   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by shirehorse View Post
Could somebody tell me if you can buy the plug for the Garmin gps aerial cable so i can cut off the original one to thread it through the ducting. Also the name of the plug thank you .
.... Yes you can >
Its called a BNC plug. They are available with different fitting methods/types : screw on, clamp on and crimp on ... I found the crimp on best to use. They are available at Maplins or RS and you want the 50ω for RG58 cable.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?...source=15&SD=Y

I may have some kicking about which I'll gladly send you foc if I can find them.

Jeff
__________________

__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.