Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 October 2009, 20:08   #1
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
Bilge Pump - Float Switch test

Hey,

Simple question - to test my float switch on my bilge pump is working, I can simply shove a hose in the hull and walk away until it's full/floats the float, right?

!

Cheers
__________________

__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 02:26   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbathgate View Post
Hey,

Simple question - to test my float switch on my bilge pump is working, I can simply shove a hose in the hull and walk away until it's full/floats the float, right?

!

Cheers
You must be Irish
__________________

__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 02:29   #3
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
You must be Irish
no where near...!
__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 03:34   #4
Member
 
chewy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Up Norf
Make: Avon SR4,Tremlett 23
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yam 55, Volvo 200
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
You must be Irish
I think the point was if you walk away and leave it you may also prove your float switch doesn't work by flooding the boat.
Is your boat left on a mooring? Wouldn't fancy leaving a hose in it if it is!

Can't you remove the pump and switch and test it at home?
__________________
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 05:07   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,926
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
You must be Irish
Why, does he think he can "make" money by converting it from USD to Pesos?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewy View Post
Can't you remove the pump and switch and test it at home?
Jaysus Chewy, you actually might be Irish
__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 14:53   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Southampton
Boat name: DynaMoHumm/ SRV/deja
Make: Avon8.4, 5.4 & 4.777
Length: 8m +
Engine: Cat3126 Yam 90 &70
MMSI: 42
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbathgate View Post
Hey,

Simple question - to test my float switch on my bilge pump is working, I can simply shove a hose in the hull and stand by until it's full/floats the float, right?

!

Cheers
sounds good to me
__________________
Here it comes again, I don't stand a chance
Soul possession, Got me in a trance
Pullin' me back to you - Deja Voodoo
Rogue Wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 15:04   #7
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
ha sounds like i've caused chaos...

no, it's not wet moored, it's in my driveway...

and I wouldn't completely 'walk away' and leave it to completely fill with water and then be stuck with a very heavy boat...

basically, when I'm at home, rinsing the boat, I hose the inside, and the water runs down the drain plug in the deck, and down into the hull, where the float switch is, and then out of the screw plug at the bottom of the transom - for I have the screw plug undone when at home obviously.

So, as the water is coming out the plug, it's not affecting the float switch/bilge pump.

So, to test the bilge pump, if i simply screw up the plug, water will gather in the hull, and after a while hopefully flick the float...

It all makes sense in my head, but just wanted to make sure I'm not missing some really simple point....!!

If the pump doesn't work, then I can simply unscrew the screw plug and 'manually' drain it out... right?

__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 15:20   #8
Member
 
HUMBER P4VWL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N Wales Chester
Boat name: Mr Smith
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,013
Sounds like plan, just make sure the jockey wheel is up or the bow will be down and you will have to fill the whole hull until the level rises at the back where the float switch is!

I simply take the unit out of it's holder and turn it upside down, quick way of testing the pump and switch, but not the float switch itself in terms of floating ability.
__________________
HUMBER P4VWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 October 2009, 20:07   #9
Member
 
Country: New Zealand
Town: Tauranga
Boat name: Extra Pleasure
Make: Atomix
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard 60HP 2Strke
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 182
float switch works

i can confirm by the fact I'm now soaked.

float level is much higher than screw plug drain (still heaps coming out after float stopped and screw undone), but hey, least it works when it's real wet
__________________

__________________
rjbathgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.