Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 May 2011, 09:22   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
That switch must have some electronics inside. The laws of physics wouldn't allow it to do that otherwise!
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2011, 13:10   #12
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by C2 RIBS View Post
Stevo- If this has been rigged sensibly then by putting the switch on both the engine will charge both batteries and should charge No 1 first and then No 2.
Not with a standard battery switch. Switching to "Both" will connect the 2 anodes together, and connect the 2 cathodes together, creating what is in essence a double-capacity battery. Any charging or discharging will affect both batteries simultaneously (assuming the batteries are in usable conditions. If they're not, you'll attempt to charge the bad one, and the good one won't receive the voltage necessary to charge.)

Even with an isolator, selecting "both" will parallel the two batteries.


jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2011, 13:26   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Not with a standard battery switch. Switching to "Both" will connect the 2 anodes together, and connect the 2 cathodes together, creating what is in essence a double-capacity battery. Any charging or discharging will affect both batteries simultaneously (assuming the batteries are in usable conditions. If they're not, you'll attempt to charge the bad one, and the good one won't receive the voltage necessary to charge.)

Even with an isolator, selecting "both" will parallel the two batteries.


jky
Interesting, what is a non standard battery switch as I was with the Yam engineers recently with ours and this is what we were told how it worked, It may be they have rigged ours differently to standard as we have to have two batteries for commercial coding
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 May 2011, 11:30   #14
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by C2 RIBS View Post
Interesting, what is a non standard battery switch
I said "standard" to identify a make-before-break, A-Both-B-Off switch. I don't know offhand of any others that are around, but I wouldn't be surprised to find that someone has gone the "add some electronics" route. The "standard" statement was to exclude any oddball units that might be around. Sorry for any confusion.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.