Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 September 2012, 14:29   #51
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
... Can the off/1/both switch be rigged to turn on the house electronics too? If so...how..
Yes, just take your power for the auxiliaries from the output terminal of the 1, 2, both switch rather than directly off a battery. That way the 1, 2, both switch isolates battery power from everything - which is exactly what I thought is its purpose. The only exception would be a bilge pump supply. Also, if it were me, I'd drive a relay, through a diode, from your engine ignition to energise when the ignition is turned on, and connect your auxiliaries to the relay contacts so everything comes to life when you switch on the ignition. If you feel you may want to run the auxiliaries without the ignition on at some point then you could switch the relay via an override switch from a convenient positive supply, the diode previously mentioned will prevent you back feeding the engine ignition circuit. However, this will reallocate your batteries, one will be a main for engine starting and auxiliary power and the other will become a fully charged always ready backup battery should you ever need it for starting. Of course, this will also have the benefit should you ever have a major main battery failure, of the secondary battery also supplying your auxiliaries too since their power comes from the 1, 2, both switch along with the engine power.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2012, 14:55   #52
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotchiguy View Post
That looks just the ticket thanks a lot!

I have been thinking and I think just adding individual switches in the same series our existing ones is going to be the best call. So we would have: trim tabs, nav lights, NMEA 2000 power, AIS silent mode, bilge pump, and as martini says, just use the power buttons for everything else
Do you need to hard wire the ais silent mode? I just use the soft option from the plotter.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2012, 15:06   #53
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
On TB I had a 6 switch panel (Blue Sea) with the following

Nav lights (port and starboard lights)
Anchor light ((all round white)
Electronics (VHF & GPS)
Deck light (flood on A frame)
Bilge
One spare (AIS perhaps)

Then I got the Evinrude multi engine NMEA Power lead which lets you have up to 4 power inputs to run the NMEA network. I used two... One from the ignition so the network came on when the ignition was on. The other so the network cam on when the "Electronics" switch was on. This meant if I had the GPS running with engine off the GPS aerial on the network was still powered (as were the gauges)
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2012, 15:21   #54
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Blue sea fuse panel and BEP switch cluster with VSR for auto charging of secondary bank. Not the neatest installation (and not on a rib either) but simple and easy to understand. You wouldn't need the VSR with your aux charging circuit, but three separate switches are better IMHO than a 1,2,off switch. One battery is dedicated for engine starting and nothing else, but house can be paralleled in case of failure.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0014 (Large).JPG
Views:	80
Size:	106.9 KB
ID:	72527  
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2012, 16:17   #55
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
but three separate switches are better IMHO than a 1,2,off switch. One battery is dedicated for engine starting and nothing else, but house can be paralleled in case of failure.
I've been telling the lad that since page 1 That overcomes the electronics switching dilemma, K.I.S.S!! I've just blown an EMM on one of my engines, the first thing BRP asked was "do you have a 1-2-both battery sw" apparently they cause many blown EMMs on Etecs.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2012, 17:51   #56
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
OK - so three master switches and forget the NMEA 2000 one..

I'll draw it up tomorrow
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2012, 17:54   #57
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Do you need to hard wire the ais silent mode? I just use the soft option from the plotter.
It is a digital yacht AIS not Garmin so that wouldn't work. Also Channel Ribs told me () that the E80 soft option has no impact on even Raymarine AIS units...

Thanks to the very generous people at Garmin we have come away with a free AIS300 however this is only a reciever but begs the question that it may be worth selling it and the AIT1000 and going for an AIS600 so there is no 0183 whatsoever..
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 04:57   #58
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I think you'll find that the soft option on the Garmin AIS600 has never been activated in the software even though the original manuals said you could. Martini knows better from his first hand experience.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 05:26   #59
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Yes, garmin got a bit carried away there!

Just ordered a digital yacht AIT2000 with N2k for the mother ship

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 September 2012, 05:48   #60
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
[QUOTE=gotchiguy;490181] Also Channel Ribs told me () that the E80 soft option has no impact on even Raymarine AIS units...
QUOTE]

It does now New firmware for the E80 sorts out many AIS issues.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.