Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 September 2008, 19:07   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
Is there such a beast similiar to the NASA stand alone unit but waterproof and suitable for mounting on an open console?
Comar do one but I'm fairly sure it's not waterproof. However, they are quite expensive (like 600) so you may as well use a cheap chartplotter.

I saw another one recently, but don't recall manufacturer but guess it wouldn't be cheap either.

Don't forget, for AIS purposes you wouldn't need a full chart - you're only interested in what's around you.
__________________

__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 September 2008, 19:19   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I have two plotters fitted already, really looking for a stand alone small unit like the NASA that has its own display and is at a reasonable price.
I don't think the Lowrances I have will take an input from an AIS engine although I could be wrong?
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2008, 16:23   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
I don't think the Lowrances I have will take an input from an AIS engine although I could be wrong?
Yes, only the newer Lowrance models will do AIS.
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 September 2008, 19:05   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
The lowrance manuals are really pants, which ones will take an AIS input and what would I need to fit it?
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 September 2008, 12:55   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
The new Icom 505 with AIS looks interesting, anybody got more info on how it connects and whether it will display onto a lowrance LCX-27?
I would as cheap buying one of these and selling my almost new 505 than paying for a seperate unit plus it will take up no more room on the console.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 September 2008, 12:59   #26
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Yes does look good from the out set but you have to remember to have the radio in "scan" for it to pick up the AIS info.
The radio has the two AIS channels programmed in. You tag the channels and then scan. If it is scanning it will pick up the info and output it.
This means if you are talking on the radio of picking up radio traffic you will not be getting AIS at that time.

So they do not work like a normal AIS unit and pick up the info all the time and output it.

This could be a failing and not give the results expected.

Good idea though.
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 September 2008, 13:15   #27
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
So its a distinct operation to set it to scan rather than constantly scanning?
How do I find out if my plotter will accept and display the data? There is little or no information out there that can be found.....
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 September 2008, 14:15   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
yes has to be a concious act to make it work, not a background task.

You could try calling Simrad as they are now the lowrance people.

Most Garmin and Standard Horizin kit now have AIS overlay as standard.
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2008, 11:56   #29
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I contacted navico today and they have confirmed Lowrance LCX plotters don't accept AIS input. There may be a product update next year to accomodate this but not at the moment, and no guarantees it will happen!
I have been looking at the various stand alone versions and only Furnuno and Simrad seems to be around that are waterproof and stand alone with screen.
They are both rather expensive, any other that anybody knows of?
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 September 2008, 10:22   #30
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
They are both rather expensive, any other that anybody knows of?
Finally got around to wiring up my Garmin to an Easy AIS. Easy AIS was recommended to me by Garmin at the boat show rather than the NASA one due to quality and ease of setting up. After a bit of faffing around because Garmin and Easy AIS use different terminology for NEMA wires, it was plug and play. How sensitive is it, well with the range set at 0.5 miles the alarm goes off everytime the Gosport ferry crosses the harbour. What did suprise me is the number of small boats and yachts transmitting AIS.

How useful is it? well for a rib wandering around the Solent, it's only a "nice to have" and you won't want the alarm turned on or it will be constantly activating. However on the yacht for cross channel trips knowing were and how far away the big boys are is definately worth while.

Btw, had the chance to look at the NASA AIS at the boatshow. It's tiny, the screen is about the size of a fag packet (cigarettes for our colonial friends) black / white display and not waterproof according to there website.

Pete
__________________

__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.