Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 June 2011, 03:40   #1
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
AIT1000 AIS Transceiver

I have just been setting one of these up for a customer, and felt the urge to post as I am really impressed.

I am not a fan of windows but we keep a PC just for jobs like this and the ProAIS software that is supplied as part of the package installed easily enough and works very well, giving control of every aspect of the unit as well as showing GPS and AIS status in a clean way.

The unit itself is really well designed and built, with easy connections. My one quibble would be the lack of PL259 for the VHF antenna connection, we always advise people to go for a second dedicated antenna since this then provides an emergency backup for the radio if needed; so the connector should either the a standard one or an adapter should be included.

Everything else needed for the installation is included. The GPS antenna is super-small and worked fine indoors! It is small enough to lose in a cup of tea.

For less than 500 quid (with a 2nd VHF antenna included) this is a great way to add both AIS receive and transmit you your RIB.
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2011, 03:48   #2
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
Just done a Raymarine 500 ais that has separate pl259 but I bet it was £500

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2011, 03:52   #3
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffer View Post
Raymarine 500 ais that has separate pl259, but I bet it wasn't £500
The Raymarine badge and PL259 bring the cost up to about 900 quid!
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2011, 03:58   #4
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
Don't think the matey minded. He had two e120 touchscreens. St70+ radar ais two VHF sounder seame. Yes on a rib

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2011, 19:34   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Romney Marsh ,Kent
Make: Osprey 5.85
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Tohatsu
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 169
Does it also connect to icon radio and garmin plotter?

Also is price excluding vat?

Cheers
Mije

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
bingomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2011, 02:48   #6
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Ait1000

We would recommend using a separate arial rather than a splitter to your Icom, but yes these connect easily to your Garmin.

Our price is 429.00 ex vat delivered, but because the way duty paid goods work it will still come in at under 500 pounds. (VAT is not payable on post, packing or any config work we do before delivery).
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2011, 03:18   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Think I looked at one of those at the Jersey boatshow. Just a pity it's still only NMEA 0183 and not N2K
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 June 2011, 03:30   #8
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
Just a pity it's still only NMEA 0183 and not N2K
That is where the Garmin equivalent stands out, the extra 150 quid gets you N2K.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2011, 03:47   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Romney Marsh ,Kent
Make: Osprey 5.85
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Tohatsu
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
Think I looked at one of those at the Jersey boatshow. Just a pity it's still only NMEA 0183 and not N2K
Does that make a lot of difference? Still trying to get my head around the difference - as long as my Garmin and Icom talk to it does it it lower any functionality or is it just a forward compatability issue?

Mike
__________________
bingomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2011, 03:59   #10
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
I would say you are right about forward compatibility. For example Garmin plan to make the AIS transmissions fully controlled & configured via their N2K plotters, but as of yet you still need a PC to plug in for that.

The common sense thing is to fit gear that has the most up to date networking, that way it wont be left behind. But weigh that up against budget and where else the x quid could go.
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.