Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12 January 2012, 03:31   #1
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,655
AIS display on a PC

I've got a new 'idea' I'd like to get working, no idea if it is practical!

I have HomePort on my PC with the local charts is now showing AIS for my area on their website, not sure who is providing it but it seems to work reasonably well, however the Marinetraffic site uses a Google Maps base map which is not very good - to the extent the coastline is quite a long way out in many areas. Not a major problem, just annoying, so I wondered if it could be improved on

Is there any way of getting AIS data off the web and into Homeport and displaying as part of the chart data? Or even from an AIS receiver, into Homeport, if I bought the hardware? Or is it all too complicated ... which I suspect will be the case

Is anybody running an AIS receiver setup at home - if so what do you use? I suspect most people on here probably just use websites as the coverage seems pretty good in UK & Europe, and they are free....

A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 January 2012, 04:22   #2
martini's Avatar
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,018
One thing I've found helps is change the view from map to satellite in google, seems to be more accurate round coastlines.

Know what you mean though, I'd like to be able to do the same. My own receiver wouldn't work though, wouldn't get the coverage.

martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 January 2012, 05:58   #3
RIBnet supporter
Erin's Avatar
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,797
I'm not sure how you'd get the raw AIS data (lat,long, speed etc) off the web to pass to Homeport. I guess you can get it but it may well be a subscription service. The other option is to get yourself a damn tall mast and pop a good AIS receiver at the top
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.