Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 March 2014, 12:12   #1
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Hi all,

My throttle is a bit stiff and the control cables appear to be really tight, especially when the engine is in steering lock, so I thought I might replace them with slightly longer cables to see if that helps.

Does anyone know what the best control cables for a Yammy F115 to 703 side mount control would be? And the best price/place to get them? Also, does it matter if the replacement cables are a little too long?

Then I'd have to go on YouTube to see if there's a tutorial on doing it! Lol.

Thanks everyone!
__________________

__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 March 2014, 12:42   #2
Member
 
ribraff's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dartmouth
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,209
Tfxtreme cables are pretty good, you can pretty much tie them in a knot so ideal for all the twists and turns on a cable route.
Available from your friendly Ribeye dealer I would have thought.
__________________

__________________
Hypalon Tubes built in-house,retubing, repairs, Accessories
www.ribtube.co.uk
ribraff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 March 2014, 17:27   #3
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
They look ok, on eBay for around 23-47 depending on length. I'm not sure what length I'd need as I don't really want to pull the others out til I have the new ones here. I could guesstimate I suppose.

Would it matter if I overdo it and get cables that are longer than currently fitted (say 2'-3' longer)?
__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 March 2014, 18:22   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: west wales
Make: humber destroyer 5m
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90 yamaha
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 202
There should be some numbers printed on the outer casing of the cables near one end or the other (as they will fit either way around) that will include the length.
__________________
bosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2014, 03:09   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: hydradrive
Make: yamaha
Length: no boat
Engine: sterndrives
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 289
33c type cables if no numbers , try an measure a the route with a tape an add a foot
__________________
yam man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2014, 06:42   #6
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
I'll have a look at the weekend when I get a few minutes spare, thanks bosun and yam man.

If the numbers aren't on the cables I'll measure a rough distance of the current ones and add a bit extra; as I said, the current ones do seem a little tight when the engine is in full lock to starboard (cables come in from port) so I'd like to add a bit.

Does it matter if I get them too long? ie if I needed, say 11ft and get 16ft just to give extra slack, will this affect the performance of the control cable?
__________________
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2014, 07:52   #7
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
Sorry, I meant they are tight when I turn to starboard (front of engine moves to the port side) and the cables come in from the starboard!
__________________
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2014, 08:46   #8
Member
 
Ribochet's Avatar
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Rostrevor
Boat name: Ricochet
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin F115 Yams
MMSI: 235083269
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 911
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovey View Post
Does it matter if I get them too long? ie if I needed, say 11ft and get 16ft just to give extra slack, will this affect the performance of the control cable?
No difference in performance but where will the redundant 5ft go?
__________________
Maximum Preparation - Maximum Fun
Ribochet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2014, 16:48   #9
Member
 
Ovey's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth(ish)
Boat name: Wings
Make: Ribeye
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha F115 AETL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 615
RIBase
There is that!

Hopefully I'll be able to put a bight in it so as to give it some slack. Not saying I'm going to get a cable that is 5' longer than I need, but was just trying to work out if a cable that's too long would cause any loss in control.

I'll be getting my string and tape measure out at the weekend I think. And then I'll no doubt be on here looking for tips on how to change them!
__________________
There's weather out there - must be time to RIB!

(Or dive, or ref rugby, or.......)
Ovey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2014, 17:40   #10
Member
 
Nick Hearne's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,242
I would email Ribeye and ask them, I'm sure they will tell you
__________________

__________________
Member of the Ribeye supporters club!!!
Member of Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Member of SR4 club
Nick Hearne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Member's RIBs

MI9

MI9

Breawatch

jambo
Add your RIB



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.