Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 March 2010, 03:55   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: BRISTOL
Make: FLATACRAFT GT3
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 28 hp ES
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 52
Yamaha wiring ?

Hi,
I have recently purchased a mid 80's 28hp Yamaha 2 stroke outboard. It is electric and manual start, but has a few wiring problems.
It has a loom with a home made 'ignition key' consisting of just a 2 piece plug which is pushed together to engage the starter.
Although it starts easily, I have no way of stopping it !
Is there anyone who can tell me which wires go where as I need to add a new ignition ?
Also, which wires are needed to add a remote stop on lanyard please?
Thanks to all.
__________________

__________________
redxpuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:28   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by redxpuser View Post
Hi,
I have recently purchased a mid 80's 28hp Yamaha 2 stroke outboard. It is electric and manual start, but has a few wiring problems.
It has a loom with a home made 'ignition key' consisting of just a 2 piece plug which is pushed together to engage the starter.
Although it starts easily, I have no way of stopping it !
Is there anyone who can tell me which wires go where as I need to add a new ignition ?
Also, which wires are needed to add a remote stop on lanyard please?
Thanks to all.
White and black (earth). Join the 2 to stop the engine. Works for stopping it on the killcord as well as the ignition.

How many ignition coils does it have? Is it one with 2 outputs or 2 separate ones? Once I know which engine it is, I'll post a wiring diagramme for it. No point in giving you the wrong one.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:29   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
This might be of some use:



Or you can get many Yamaha manuals to (view only) at the Yamaha US site.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:37   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
This might be of some use:



Or you can get many Yamaha manuals to (view only) at the Yamaha US site.
I think that's a fourstroke diagramme
Oil pressure switch is a giveaway.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:40   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: BRISTOL
Make: FLATACRAFT GT3
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 28 hp ES
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 52
Re: Yam Wiring

Thanks Nos,
Here's a picture of the engine which should help you with ID.
Can you see the two wires (red and black) that have been twisted together - any idea what these are for ?
Thanks,
Andy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yam28 001.jpg
Views:	355
Size:	93.3 KB
ID:	50057  
__________________
redxpuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:46   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: BRISTOL
Make: FLATACRAFT GT3
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 28 hp ES
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 52
Re: Yamaha wiring

One other thing, while trying to stop the engine, I accidently pulled the lower of the two HT leads off, and managed to break the lead - is it an easy fix ?
__________________
redxpuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:55   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Are you 100% sure that's a black and not a filthy yellow with tape on? It definitely shouldn't have a red twisted to it if it's a black.

Diagramme is attached.
Ignition switch should be wired as per the 2nd diagramme.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Yam25to30wiringDualcoil.jpg
Views:	2474
Size:	82.8 KB
ID:	50058   Click image for larger version

Name:	yamahaignition.jpg
Views:	4910
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	50059  
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 04:57   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by redxpuser View Post
is it an easy fix ?
Depends where you've broken it. Is it that the cap's come off? Looks like it in the pic. If so, just buy a new cap from a bike shop and screw it on.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 05:00   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
I think that's a fourstroke diagramme
Oil pressure switch is a giveaway.
Yes - but the control box end of things (ignition, stop, kill etc) is the same across all the Yamahas. Not sure how far back in time that goes or if they've changed the colours at any point. I read it that he already had the wiring loom in place - just nothing connected at the control box end? However I hadn't seen your earlier post.

Quote:
One other thing, while trying to stop the engine, I accidently pulled the lower of the two HT leads off, and managed to break the lead - is it an easy fix ?
I doubt it. Even if you can bodge together a repair - I would be woried about it would fail randomly whilst at sea.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2010, 05:02   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: BRISTOL
Make: FLATACRAFT GT3
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yamaha 28 hp ES
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 52
Thanks again Nos - will try and sort it out today, have to find a suitable ignition switch first.
Thanks, Andy

p.s. Finally moved away from playing with the Mercury Blue/red bands, hope this motor will give me less grief !
__________________

__________________
redxpuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.