Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 May 2008, 09:02   #1
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
optimax alarm

200hp optimax keeps coming up with check speedo alarm. Seems to happen more when i trim but could have just been luck!

Any ideas please
__________________

__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2008, 16:06   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtflash View Post
200hp optimax keeps coming up with check speedo alarm. Seems to happen more when i trim but could have just been luck!

Any ideas please
I take it you have a speedo fitted, a paddle wheel and pitot sender for the gauge to work?
__________________

__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2008, 17:09   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
I take it you have a speedo fitted, a paddle wheel and pitot sender for the gauge to work?
I am confused. Not unusual. Why to you need a a paddle wheel and a pitot tube for a speedo.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 05:41   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
I am confused. Not unusual. Why to you need a a paddle wheel and a pitot tube for a speedo.
The paddle wheel is considered to be more accurate. Every engine has the pitot as standard.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 15:58   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Limey Linda View Post
I am confused. Not unusual. Why to you need a a paddle wheel and a pitot tube for a speedo.
The Paddle wheel measures slow speed upto what ever speed you set it to, then the pitot takes over as the paddle wheel is not accurate at high speed. You can just use the pitot but you need to check that the smartcraft gauge knows what sensors your using. Send me a PM if you need more help in this.
__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 May 2008, 18:00   #6
Member
 
gtflash's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: TOP CAT 2
Make: Scorpion 8.1
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp HO
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,318
hmmm i cant remember now if it was just at fast speeds! i know it went off at 43knots several times! is that a clue as to what the problem may be!

ps i dont use speedo so gps speeds, can i jus configure it out?
__________________

__________________
gtflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.