Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 February 2008, 13:32   #1
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
Northstar F210 fuel flow meter

Anyone ever use one of these?
http://www.boatersland.com/f210.html

I have a 60hp Yamaha and I'm considering adding this. The minimum flow rate is a bit low I suspect (2.5L/hr) . But I'm not sure if that will substantively affect the accuracy or not. I have 45L tank.
__________________

__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 February 2008, 17:05   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
had one on a 90hp that worked fine although it got water in and needed replacing under wty.
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 February 2008, 18:58   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
Hmmm are they supposed to be watertight to a high standard? Or just water resistant? This isn't something I considered. I have a pretty wet boat - actually I just drive it hard in waves.
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 February 2008, 19:00   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
They are the same as the Navman. I have a Navman 3100 and it plays up like hell as soon as it gets wet. Try putting a flip up see through plastic cover over it.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 February 2008, 20:02   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
Hmmm that's not good; my console gets soaked. I will look into covers but I'm not really that motivated anymore. I have never used more than 30-35L of my tank on my longest days anyway. Thanks for the user feedback.
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2008, 03:07   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
They aer supposed to be watertight. I think using a high power hose to wash my boat down at the end of the day was more than likely responsible for getting mine "wet"
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2008, 08:39   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Punta gorda Fl.
Boat name: War Machine
Make: Falcon U.S.A.
Length: 9m +
Engine: twin 250 Yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 936
Re fuel flow meter

Have you checked Yamaha's website to see if a fuel flow meter is available for your size motor? I have them for my motors ( built into gauges) I would think they would have something for your engine.

Addition here, I just checked their website and apparently they do offer a fuel flow gauge in your horsepower range, for me this would be my preference as these are pretty much plug and play, simple installation and very reliable, both in terms of function and resistance to water/fogging.
I have had no problems with the factory gauges on my boat. Hope that helps.
__________________
pathalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2008, 12:29   #8
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
hmmm that wasn't listed in the paper catalog I had at home. I will look into it with the dealer, thanks
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 February 2008, 20:27   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Punta gorda Fl.
Boat name: War Machine
Make: Falcon U.S.A.
Length: 9m +
Engine: twin 250 Yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 936
re:yamaha gauges

Here's a link that might help:http://www.yamaha-motor.com/outboard...atched_01.aspx
__________________

__________________
pathalla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.