Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 August 2018, 05:12   #1
Member
 
Simonh66's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 57
RIBase
Lubing Control Cables

Hi
Anybody got a cheat for lubing the cables without using a compressor?
Thanks
Si
__________________

__________________
Simonh66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2018, 05:24   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,637
I’ve always understood them to be non-serviceable - I.e. no lube on the internal component? Have I got it wrong? Am I being sold a story so I buy new cables periodically?
__________________
Poly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2018, 06:32   #3
Member
 
Simonh66's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 57
RIBase
Ive seen a youtube clip where they use a compressor to force oil down the line freeing them up

Worth trying before buying new i think
__________________
Simonh66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2018, 07:48   #4
Member
 
The Black Pig's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe
Boat name: The Black Pig
Make: Ranieri
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60c hp tohatsu
MMSI: 235038018
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 384
Send a message via AIM to The Black Pig
My teleflex has snapped three times from new with a new one each time strangely with the first lasting by far the longest ( all original parts )

All without a way to lubricate them
__________________
The Black Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2018, 08:27   #5
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,550
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simonh66 View Post
Ive seen a youtube clip where they use a compressor to force oil down the line freeing them up.
Might have been a clip from Stu at Dangar Marine (his videos are excellent) where he recovered a recently submerged boat and was cleaning out cables with compressed air and oil.
__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2018, 14:17   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Mercury
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
MMSI: 235074042
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,368
I freed mine off once by sealing a funnel around the cable filled with freeing oil worked a treat but it take time to get through.
__________________
jeffstevens763@g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 August 2018, 16:20   #7
CJL
Member
 
CJL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,137
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
Lube the cables like this -

Changing them -

Chris
__________________
www.northernexposurerescue.org.uk
A registered charity supporting events across England and Wales
Follow us on Vimeo and Facebook
CJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 August 2018, 02:42   #8
Member
 
Simonh66's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 57
RIBase
Not the same clip, but same method
__________________
Simonh66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2018, 05:05   #9
Member
 
Simonh66's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Gecko
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115 Optimax
MMSI: 235060442
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 57
RIBase
Ended up replacing them. What a git of a job pulling them through the under deck conduit!
__________________
Simonh66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 September 2018, 05:40   #10
Member
 
Country: Other
Length: no boat
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 237
Disregard. (edited away my post about 3in1 oil)
I see you've replaced them.
I think it's inevitable once they start degrading internally.
__________________

__________________
Iron Dials is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.