Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 January 2010, 14:23   #1
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Fly by wire?

Okay all...stupid question time again...

Optimax 150 2007/8. On a pallet so not easily visible /not had enough weetabix to lift it up on my own.

Control box only has a thick black loom with multipin connector coming from it. Is this OB 'fly by wire'? Are all Opti's this age 'fly by wire'. If not, the cables are missing!

Any help appreciated...

Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2010, 14:29   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Your cables are missing, Dan!
Veradont's are fly by wire, but not the 150 opti.

Did you get the bloooo wiring loom and the smartcraft gauges with it?
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2010, 15:07   #3
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Have two no. smartcraft....will check if loom present (colour Blue?)

Have a control box (side mount type) with a long cable with multipin to engine, then a shorter cable next to it alos coming from control box....has a conector on it...presume the blooo loom connects to that for the smartcraft?

Bloke still away, but the list of bits not on the pallet grows!!

Cheers Brad Will probably be asking you more questions as I go if that's okay....

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2010, 15:58   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
No probs.

The bloo coloured smartcraft cable is a separate item and runs alongside the main loom from the control box. It has a separate plug-in connection on the stbd side of the powerhead. The forward (console) end of the bloo cable plugs into a multi-plug/socket connector, which you fix inside the console and the tails off the 2 smartcraft gauges also plug into this. You can have additional smartcraft instruments which will plug in here. IIRC, the small cable tail running alongside your main loom will connect to a tacho, when using the same control box in a non-Smartcraft installation.

Did the installation manual come with the motor? If not, I've got one here you can borrow (if I can find it!).
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 January 2010, 16:37   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Photo of Smartcraft Connections

Here's how they join up. You should be able to see the bleu cable connecting into the underside of the 4-way multi-plug and the cables from the 2 gauges into the top.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Osprey Vipermax pics 152 (Medium).jpg
Views:	171
Size:	95.4 KB
ID:	48658  
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2010, 07:27   #6
Member
 
Razorbill RIBs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N. Pembrokeshire
Boat name: Various
Make: RIBs & Hovercraft
Length: 9m +
Engine: Outboards
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,357
RIBase
Thanks Brad!

Blue cable and jctn box missing....have found the wiring diag (although not to say i won't be asking you more questions!?!)....will chase up with supplier on Monday and let you know how I get on.

Dan
__________________
Dan Worth
www.razorbillribs.co.uk

Follow us on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php...17306504953480
Razorbill RIBs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 January 2010, 08:06   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: True Blue
Make: Humber ocean pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 150 opti
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Worth View Post

Blue cable and jctn box missing....
Blue cable is not standard with a 07/08 opti and you may not need one but you will need the jctn box
__________________

__________________
Ian Sharlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.