Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 January 2010, 15:59   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Coast
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,445
Barometer

To go up from Cat 4 to 3, one of the extras is a barometer.

Does anyone use or know of anything for use on a RIB? The only thing I have found is the sort you would put on the wall of a cabin or in an office at home!

Steve
__________________
250kts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 January 2010, 16:09   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,850
http://www.sailgb.com/p/weems_and_pl...BP&country=GBR

Waterproof and built to withstand a saltwater environment.

Failing that - I'm sure I've seen a digital one kicking around somewhere.
__________________

__________________
Jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 January 2010, 16:17   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Not sure if you have to meet a particular spec but:

Some Navman fixed VHFs have one built it (others might too?)
Some handheld GPS have this feature (not sure if any fixed ones offer it)
You should be able to get small weather 'sensors' which connect to NMEA2000(?) networks

Edit: or how about http://cgi.ebay.com/Waterproof-6-in-...16234007r27491
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 January 2010, 16:29   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
Check also with your surveyor, some will allow watches that have the barometer settings. Also it would not surprise me if Solent Blast VHF radio has it built in- mine did.
Always ask your surveyor before buying as he/she will be the person signing off the craft
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 January 2010, 16:36   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 10hp Yam / 150hp opt
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,894
RIBase
I think that the Smartcraft system has it built in.
__________________
Searider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2010, 03:51   #6
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
as most of you know i've done my stint at codeing, a while back there were posts about waterproof ribphones well they had a barometer and a compass, they thought it novel but my thoughts were that they didn't really think that it was needed
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2010, 10:11   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Random one off Google:

http://www.coastaldepot.com/product_...oducts_id=7734
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2010, 11:43   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Plymouth
Length: 10m +
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 357
We have put 4 RIBs all through coding to Cat 3 (R) and have not required a barometer.
__________________
South West Boat Transport
Professional Boat Transport across England, Wales, Scotland, Europe & Scandinavia. Any boat up to 50ft.
http://www.boat-transportation.co.uk
SW Boat Transport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 January 2010, 13:48   #9
Member
 
Doug Stormforce's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Yoda & Obi Wan
Make: Valiant 750 & XS600
Length: 7m +
Engine: 150, 115 HP
MMSI: Various
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by SW RIB Charter View Post
We have put 4 RIBs all through coding to Cat 3 (R) and have not required a barometer.
As with any inspection, the surveyor can miss something, which is what i guess has happened here. The code is quite clear that other than pilot boats all veseesl in Cat 0,1,2,3 must carry a baromoter.
__________________
STORMFORCE COACHING
web - www.stormforce.biz
email - coaching@stormforce.biz
tel - 02380 231122
Doug Stormforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 January 2010, 01:03   #10
Member
 
SeaSkills's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban (mostly)
Make: Ribcraft, Humber,BWM
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboards
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 632
Send a message via Skype™ to SeaSkills
I use one like this; http://www.seamarknunn.com/acatalog/info_SI55250.htmle

Doesn't take up much space, I carry it from boat to boat with me as part of my personal gear, and I particularly like the stored data which show the pressure trend over the recent period
__________________

__________________
SEASKILLS TRAINING
Web; www.seaskills.co.uk
Email; info@seaskills.co.uk
Tel; 07525 012 013
SeaSkills is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.