Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 November 2007, 10:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
remote computer access

Afternoon.

I am just installing broadband for my mum on her new Laptop. problem is i know whe is going to have trouble getting used to a computer and would like the ability to help without traveling 50 miles to do it in person.

Does anyone have any experience of free software that would allow me to log into her computer from my house and fix any problems??

Thanks.
Howard.
__________________

__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2007, 10:12   #2
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippy View Post
Afternoon.

I am just installing broadband for my mum on her new Laptop. problem is i know whe is going to have trouble getting used to a computer and would like the ability to help without traveling 50 miles to do it in person.

Does anyone have any experience of free software that would allow me to log into her computer from my house and fix any problems??

Thanks.
Howard.
Whats the O/S ? as you can set up a virtual Private Network for free with XP, so you can work from your terminal but looking onto her desktop
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2007, 10:27   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
its vista. (on hers and mine)
__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2007, 11:12   #4
DJL
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Make: Ribcraft 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF175TG
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 929
VNC might be worth a look - http://www.realvnc.com

The free version doesn't work on Vista yet, but the Personal edition, which is only £14 does. Very easy to use and it works pretty well.
__________________
DJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2007, 11:47   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes
Boat name: Tabby Cat
Make: Halmatic
Length: 7m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha 115
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 388
I use logmein.com. I have used VNC, PCanywhere and others and have found this application to be the best. It is also free, unless you want FTP capability.

Simon
__________________
Simon Hawkins
http://www.rnli.org.uk/cowes
Simon Hawkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2007, 17:45   #6
RAD
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex
Boat name: Club Boat
Length: no boat
Engine: Yam 40hp
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 288
Zippy

VNC and others work using an IP address to connect you up. This is great but when you log off and log on again, it drops the connection and the IP address changes.

There is an even easier way. MSN Messanger has a function to invite someone to control your computer by requesting "Remote assistance". You basically send a file, it then connects you up and saves the hassle of a possible hacker gaining access when you least expect. MSN works on XP as well as Vista. One thing to do though is to get both machines in the same location just in case the Firewall built into the OS is blocking access.

Have seen Vista haven't played with it, but on XP, in the Control Panel, within the option System there is a tab called Remote. Check the box to allow access. (there may be another option within the OS to send Remote assitance)

I have managed to control a PC (G'f laptop) when she was on dialup and I was on broadband. It worked and was really quite interesting, however slow!

There is nothing to loose and I am sure it is going to work well.
__________________
RAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2007, 18:26   #7
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
I've not used vista yet because I cant be bothered with the driver updates etc.. but the procedure should be the same.... ask both yours and hers service providers to give you static ip adresses for your broad band connections (should be free and done there and then but essential for this to work) assuming you have a router at each end of the connection (best for security) all you need to do is configure each one to have the correct ip and pass word of the other router, (so each one will know who is trying to connect to it securely) and then use microsoft terminal services client by typing mstsc in your 'start' then 'run' and connect to the ip address of her machine and you will connect to her pc... easy,.. you dont need any extra software, but you must have you routers configured correctly. Its a secure connection so it cant be hacked, and you will have control of her machine albeit a little more slowly than if it was your own, but you will see her desktop on your pc and will be able to work from there
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2007, 20:34   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Do you need static IP addresses for this. I'm thinking of addressing a home PC from a wireless modem on a laptop at work. Will be starting to experiment next week.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 November 2007, 04:57   #9
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles View Post
Do you need static IP addresses for this. I'm thinking of addressing a home PC from a wireless modem on a laptop at work. Will be starting to experiment next week.
To have a secure Virtual Private Network ..yes
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 November 2007, 05:19   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Nauti Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Wittering
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,447
gotomypc.com

We use this, it works brilliantly. We just spent 10 days in Egypt, we were able to log in and control the computers and printers in the office, exactly as if we were in the office itself. Have been using this for over 2 years now and not had one issue.
__________________
richard@kidzrides.co.uk
Mobile: 07885 487777
Nauti Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.