Old 28 March 2006, 21:32   #1

Town: Newquay, Cornwall.
Boat name: None :(
Make: None :(
Length: 5m +
Engine: None :(
MMSI: None :(
Fishing help needed.

OK - Firstly lets start with explaining I'm a raw beginner here so any replies need to be well explained with no fancy names for things as I wont know what they are.

Secondly - I don't want to be carrying around a fecking great tackle box etc - I'm not taking it too seriously - just want to catch the odd fish for tea.

So far I have had great success with mackerel with a simple hand line with a huge great weight on the line followed by 10ft more line and a simple spoon type spinner on the end. I chuck this over this side till it hits the bottom - then start up the boat and tow it at about 4 knots. Using this technique I have never gone longer than 5 minutes before dumb ass mackerel has jumped on the hook.

However I'm getting bored of eating only mackerel.

I already own a nice little 6'5" Fladden powerstick boat rod - with a multiplier reel. I keep this in a 1.3m rod bag along with a cutting board and a fillet knife and at the moment not a lot else. As i said i don't want to have to carry a tackle box so i want everything i need to fit in the pockets on this bag.

My plan is to troll for mackerel and then cut up the mackerel for use as bait to catch something else.

So what I'm looking for is the simplest rig that I can bait up with strips of mackerel that will catch me something else. I would also like to be able to take the same setup and chuck it over the local harbour wall with the kid sometimes.

Also if anyone knows a good beginners fishing website with diagrams etc - of how to rig and bait your weights and hooks for this type of fishing - i would be very grateful.
roycruse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 March 2006, 22:01   #2

Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +