Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 November 2007, 14:48   #1
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Cable Modems

I access the internet via a cable modem provided by my cable company.

How can I go wireless?
__________________

__________________
RIBnet: now available on Facebook!
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 16:34   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

AlthoughI've notlooked in to it too closely I mdid observe whilst I was in pC World last week a rather large display of broadban router/modems.The display was split in half with one side for telephone and the other for cable. Both wireless and wired. Might be a good starting point.
Although I'm no great lover of PC World sometimes they do have good deals and at least you can have hands on look at the boxes.

Failing that google cable modem/routers or use www.kelkoo.co.uk to search for a bargain.

PC sites I purchase from are:-

www.dabs.com

www.savastore.co.uk

www.ebuyer.co.uk

www.microdirect.com

Below is some more info:-

http://www.netgear.co.uk/home_newnetwork_routers.php

Hope that helps.

Nick.
__________________

__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 16:38   #3
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Thanks for that Nick.

So, will I have to replace my entire cable modem? Or do I plug a wireless modem into its USB port and, in effect, piggy-back the new wireless modem?
__________________
RIBnet: now available on Facebook!
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:08   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
All you need is a wireless router plugged into your cable modem and the plugin reciever for your PC. (it's got a name but I've got a mental block)
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:14   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

Don't take my word on it. I haven't read any instructions. But cost wise you won't save anything doing that. Might as well just buy a new cable modem/router with all the bits you want on it.

Me personally I am hard wired. Set it up a few years ago and the whole house is cabled up. But now I've got a wireless laptop I'm thinking of adding one wireless connection. The only way I can see to do it is buy a whole new box of tricks. I wouldn't save any money adding a new box to my present setup and I'm not sure if its possible.

Plus if you do buy a router and you've got any ideas of expansion get the one with as many ports as possible and the wireless function. Then you've got the best of both worlds. If your going to be serious about networking you can buy hard drives and printers that plug straight in to the router. Although more expensive they can be accessed by any PC on your network without any specific one being switched on. Means a lot more flexibilty. Also means you should be thinking about how many ports your going to need for the future. Broadband/Lan speeds seem to be one of the slowest advancing PC technolgies so you get a reasonable amount of future proofing. Having said that I have to wonder at all the wireless speeds and technologies you see banded around.

As far as my understanding of Router speeds go. It becomes very important if your shoving lots of data around between PC's. Hardwired is usually faster than wireless. I can throw numbers at you but you might just find it confusing and I don't know how much you want to know or what your PC is capable of etc.

Hopefully I've given you enough info to get started. If your needs are simple then PC World is probably the best place to go. At least if you tell the guy what you want and it doesn't do it when you get it home you can always take it back to him. There's a lot to be said for convenience over saving a few quid.

Regards Nick.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:16   #6
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
All you need is a wireless router plugged into your cable modem and the plugin reciever for your PC. (it's got a name but I've got a mental block)
Matt,

Well done you've obviously got that system in your house.

Forget all the claptrap I have just typed then. That is unless you want the latest and greatest Cable/Broadband/ADSL/Modem/Router/wireless thingymajig
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:27   #7
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Andy,

I just noticed this little bit of kit whilst doing some research for you. Any good ?

Compaq Fibre Channel Storage 7P ENet RJ45 AUI

This hub can attach up to six StorageWorks Fibre Channel Arrays to a Fibre Channel Host Adaptor for support of up to seventy-two 1-inch or forty-eight 1.6-inch hard drives per server slot.

Choose the Fibre Channel Storage Hub 7 if low total solution cost and simplicity are key requirements. Huh

£346.37 inc. Huh.

http://www.saverstore.com/productinf...9&rstrat=12767

Me thinks you could never run out of options with that.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:27   #8
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Thanks guys. Food or thought. I might go up to Feces World and take a look.
__________________
RIBnet: now available on Facebook!
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:31   #9
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles View Post
Andy,

I just noticed this little bit of kit whilst doing some research for you. Any good ?

Compaq Fibre Channel Storage 7P ENet RJ45 AUI

This hub can attach up to six StorageWorks Fibre Channel Arrays to a Fibre Channel Host Adaptor for support of up to seventy-two 1-inch or forty-eight 1.6-inch hard drives per server slot.

Choose the Fibre Channel Storage Hub 7 if low total solution cost and simplicity are key requirements. Huh

£346.37 inc. Huh.

http://www.saverstore.com/productinf...9&rstrat=12767

Me thinks you could never run out of options with that.
I don't understand what the hell it is!

You can tell I am an Apple Mac user.
__________________
RIBnet: now available on Facebook!
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 November 2007, 17:43   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Biggles View Post
you've obviously got that system in your house.

I have. I didn't have a choice as the NTL connection is (I believe) locked by serial number to the modem they supply. It works quite well and averages 54mbps connection speed (which I'm quite happy with as the router is 2 years old now and is considerably faster than my net connection!)


The hardest part is actually setting it up-it's the old story of doing everything 3 times to get one result.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.