Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > RIBs & ribbing
Click Here to Login

Old 17 June 2015, 21:47   #1

Town: Portsmouth
Length: no boat
Your thoughts on a family RIB

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum as I don't (yet) own a RIB but plan to do so soon. I'm hoping the collective wisdom of the forum can help me with my buying options. I've been pottering around in RIBs on and off for the past 20 years as a dinghy instructor at club level, but have never really considered the practicalities of owning my own.

I'm after a family RIB for use around the Solent and the Jurassic Coast; one that can safely get me (and family) to and from the Isle of Wight; one that can comfortably seat 4 but can safely seat 8 on occasions; one that is not too much of a burden to tow and launch; and one that is affordable (up to £10k). Perhaps too much to ask!

I have been considering Ribtech 585 but came across this Solent RIB 650. I'm not too bothered by aesthetics as I'm sure it can clean up with a bit of effort. I'm not familiar with Solent RIBs but they seem well regarded on the forum mentions I've found. What do you think? Is this a reasonable price? What kind of problems should I be looking out for?

Your thoughts and comments would be much appreciated!
Old 18 June 2015, 01:03   #2

Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Hey mate I lived on the IOW most of my life until moving out here to Aus. I owned my first boat at 12 and have since spent my life in and around them both recreationally and commercially.

That link to the solent boat looks a weapon of a boat I would feel confident going just about anywhere in if it all checked out ok, good power on it too.
The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the seating but some people like those style of seats.